May 2020

Post n°163
Published on 05/27/2020

A pandemic is the type of challenges that can only be overcome by global action. Despite a pre-crisis context fraught with geopolitical and trade tensions, this necessary international coordination has been achieved in the economic field. However, the post-crisis phase will exacerbate conflicts of interest and constitute a "stress test" for multilateralism.

Chart 1. Measures taken by governments in response to the Covid 19 crisis (as a % of G20+ countries)
Chart 1. Measures taken by governments in response to the Covid 19 crisis (as a % of G20+ countries) Source: IMF, April 2020.
Post n°162
Published on 05/20/2020

Is central bank money “magic money” that could avoid issuing government debt or extinguish existing debt? This blog explains what is central bank money, how it is created, and the relationship between central bank and government finances. There are no easy options to avoid paying for fiscal deficits.

Figure 1: Sovereign debt held by the Eurosystem as % of GDP
Figure 1: Sovereign debt held by the Eurosystem as % of GDP Source : ECB ; Note : last data point 2019 Q4.
Post n°161
Published on 05/12/2020

History remembers Roosevelt for pulling the United States out of the Great Depression. He did it through communication – responding to the concerns of the American people – and by changing economic policy. His goal? To break out of the vicious circle in which pessimism amplifies a recession. Although the crises may differ, this blog looks at the lessons that we can learn from this strategy for the current crisis.

Franklin D. Roosevelt during one of his “fireside chats” in1934
Franklin D. Roosevelt during one of his “fireside chats” in 1934 Source: Harris & Ewing, Library of Congress
Post n°160
Published on 05/07/2020

By Mathilde Gerardin and Martial Ranvier

Using the additional comments collected at the end of the monthly business survey for March, we used text mining to construct indicators of how firms are adapting to the lockdown (short-time work, teleworking, etc.). This information provides an overview of the way industry-specific organisational structures are being adapted, and both confirms and expands on the findings of the survey.

Chart 1: Features of the 3 industry clusters
Chart 1: Features of the 3 industry clusters Source: The Banque de France's monthly business survey (MBS).

mai 2020

Billet n°163
Publié le 27/05/2020

Une pandémie est caractéristique des défis qui ne peuvent être surmontés que par une action mondiale. Malgré un contexte pré-crise lourd de tensions géopolitiques et commerciales, cette nécessaire coordination internationale a bien été au rendez-vous dans le domaine économique. Cependant, la phase de sortie de crise exacerbera les conflits d’intérêts et constituera un « stress test » pour le multilatéralisme.

Graphique 1. Types de mesures prises par les Gouvernements en réponse à la crise du Covid19 (en % du nombre des pays du G20+)
Graphique 1. Types de mesures prises par les Gouvernements en réponse à la crise du Covid-19 (en % du nombre des pays du G20+) Source : FMI, avril 2020.
Billet n°162
Publié le 20/05/2020

La monnaie de banque centrale est-elle une « monnaie magique » qui permettrait de ne pas émettre de dette publique ou d’éteindre la dette existante ? Ce billet explique ce qu’est la monnaie de banque centrale, comment elle est créée, et la relation entre banque centrale et finances publiques. Aucune option facile ne permettra d’échapper au financement des déficits budgétaires.

Graphique 1 Dette souveraine détenue par l’Eurosystème en % du PIB
Graphique 1 Dette souveraine détenue par l’Eurosystème en % du PIB Source : BCE ; Note : les dernières données se rapportent à T4 2019. Programme d’achats de titres du secteur public (PSPP)
Billet n°161
Publié le 12/05/2020

Roosevelt reste dans l’histoire comme ayant réussi à sortir les États-Unis de la Grande Dépression. Pour cela, il communique afin de répondre aux inquiétudes des américains et modifie la politique économique. Son but ? Briser le cercle vicieux dans lequel le pessimisme amplifie la récession. Ce billet tire les leçons de cette stratégie pour la crise actuelle, même si les crises sont différentes.

Franklin D. Roosevelt lors d’une « conversation au coin du feu » en 1934
Franklin D. Roosevelt lors d’une « conversation au coin du feu » en 1934 Source : photographie de Harris & Ewing, Library of Congress
Billet n°160
Publié le 07/05/2020

Par Mathilde Gerardin et Martial Ranvier

Sur la base de commentaires libres recueillis lors de l’enquête mensuelle de conjoncture de mars dernier, nous construisons via l’analyse textuelle des indicateurs de l’adaptation des entreprises au confinement (activité partielle, télétravail…). Cette information additionnelle fournit un panorama de l’adaptation des formes d’organisation sectorielles qui recoupe et précise le diagnostic de l’enquête.

Graphique 1 : Caractérisation des 3 classes de secteurs d’activité
Graphique 1 : Caractérisation des 3 classes de secteurs d’activité Source : Enquête Mensuelle de Conjoncture (Banque de France)