April 2020

Post n°159
Published on 04/27/2020

The current recession is expected to be shallower than the Great Depression of 1929, but deeper than the Great Recession of 2008. It could be shorter than these two financial crises because of the temporary and exogenous nature of the shock that caused it. It could contribute to the deployment of the digital economy, thereby boosting productivity and growth.

Chart 1a: The current recession compared to previous ones. Euro Area.
Chart 1a: The current recession compared to previous ones. Euro Area. Source: www.longtermproductivity.com Note: (GDP growth in %, periods of war in dotted lines, IMF forecast in orange)
Post n°158
Published on 04/20/2020

By Clémence Berson, Hadrien Camatte and Sandra Nevoux 

The short-time work mechanism has recently been bolstered to limit the repercussions of the Covid-19 pandemic on employment. By preventing dismissals due to temporary difficulties, the reduction in hours worked allows firms to preserve their human capital and will foster the resumption of activity. Certain windfall effects should nevertheless be avoided, outside crisis periods, even though they generally remain minor compared with the benefits of such schemes during times of crisis.

Short-time work: a useful tool in times of crisis.
Chart 1: Development of short-time work in France due to Covid-19 (1 March – 14 April 2020). Source: Dares. Note: In France, the number of requests for short-time work due to Covid-19 amounted to 904,000 at 14 April 2020, representing 8.7 million employees (34% of salaried employment).
Post n°157
Published on 04/15/2020

Covid-19 is a public health emergency. Economic activity has been suspended due to the necessary confinement measures taken almost everywhere in the world. The targeted policies of major central banks to address this economic crisis share many common features but differ in details and labels.

Chart 1: Timeline of central banks’ main responses to the Covid-19 crisis.
Chart 1: Timeline of central banks’ main responses to the Covid-19 crisis. Source: Banque de France.

avril 2020

Billet n°159
Publié le 27/04/2020

La récession actuelle devrait être moins profonde que la Grande Dépression de 1929, mais plus que la Grande Récession de 2008. Elle pourrait être moins longue que ces deux crises financières en raison de la nature temporaire et exogène du choc qui en est à l’origine. Elle pourrait favoriser le déploiement de l’économie numérique, ce qui dynamiserait la productivité et la croissance.

Graphique 1a : La récession actuelle au regard des précédentes. Zone euro
Graphique 1a : La récession actuelle au regard des précédentes. Zone euro. Source : www.longtermproductivity.com Note : Croissance du PIB en %, périodes de guerre en pointillés, estimations FMI en orange
Billet n°158
Publié le 20/04/2020

Par Clémence Berson, Hadrien Camatte et Sandra Nevoux 

Le dispositif d’activité partielle a été récemment renforcé pour limiter les répercussions de la pandémie de Covid-19 sur l’emploi. En prévenant les licenciements face à des difficultés temporaires, la réduction des heures travaillées permet de conserver le capital humain dans l’entreprise et favorise la reprise de l’activité. Il convient toutefois de prévenir certains effets d’aubaine, hors des périodes de crise, même si ceux-ci restent en général faibles au regard des bénéfices en temps de crise.

Graphique 1 Développement de l’activité partielle en France pour motif de Covid-19  (1er mars – 14 avril 2020)
Graphique 1 : Développement de l’activité partielle en France pour motif de Covid-19 (1er mars – 14 avril 2020). Source : Dares. Note : En France, le nombre de demandes d’activité partielle pour motif de Covid-19 s’élevait à 904 000 au 14 avril 2020, soit 8,7 millions de salariés (34 % de l’emploi salarié).
Billet n°157
Publié le 15/04/2020

Le Covid-19 constitue une urgence de santé publique. L’activité économique est suspendue en raison des indispensables mesures de confinement prises presque partout dans le monde. Les mesures ciblées des principales banques centrales adoptées face à cette crise économique ont de nombreux points communs, mais elles diffèrent dans les détails et dans leurs libellés.

Figure 1 : Calendrier des principales mesures prises par les banques centrales en réponse à la crise du Covid-19
Figure 1 : Calendrier des principales mesures prises par les banques centrales en réponse à la crise du Covid-19 Source : Banque de France.