January 2020

Post n°150
Published on 01/28/2020

The Taylor rule provides a natural paragon of short-term nominal interest rates, albeit one that is subject to considerable uncertainty. This post quantifies this uncertainty and shows how this quantification contributes to monetary policy assessment. It shows that, in 2019, short-term interest rates in the euro area were close to the middle of the benchmark interval thus obtained.

Chart 1: Distribution of Taylor rates, 2015-2019 Sources: Eurostat and author’s calculations. Note: The pink areas, from the darkest to the lightest, indicate the 50%, 70%, 80%, 90% and 95% confidence intervals of Taylor rates.
Post n°149
Published on 01/22/2020

By Stéphanie Lange-Gaumand (French Embassy in Japan), Baptiste Meunier and Brieuc Monfort (Sophia University, Japan, and FFJ-EHESS)

Japan is a special case in that it is one of the first countries to face an ageing population. It is also unique in terms of the magnitude of this demographic: the proportion of people over 65 years old is the highest in the world and its population is expected to fall by 40% by 2100. Japan seems to have accepted this population decline and has focused on controlling welfare spending, which reflects national preferences.

Chart 1 – Contraction and ageing of the population
Chart 1 – Contraction and ageing of the population Source: UN forecasts (2019)
Post n°148
Published on 01/17/2020

By Antoine Lalliard, Julien Le Roux, Marie Delorme and William Honvo

This post proposes a measure of property purchasing power by calculating the floor area in m² that an individual with an average income could buy with a housing loan (excluding deposits) in some of the largest euro area countries. After declining sharply in the 2000s due to rising house prices (with the notable exception of Germany), affordable floor area has increased since the 2008 crisis, mainly thanks to lower interest rates.

Chart 1: Floor area affordable on credit in m² by country
Chart 1: Floor area affordable on credit in m² by country Sources: Authors’ calculations; Banque de France, OECD, ECB, HouseLev.
Post n°147
Published on 01/07/2020

By Cyril Couaillier, Dorian Henricot and Julien Idier

At the end of 2018, “at-risk” firms in France were estimated to have total gross debts of EUR 187 billion. A 100 basis-point rise in their cost of financing could push this amount up by 60%, potentially posing a risk to the financial system. This result supports the measures taken by the High Council for Financial Stability (HCSF) as of 2018 to strengthen the resilience of the banking system.

Chart 1: Debt at risk of French groups
Chart 1: Debt at risk of French groups Source: FIBEN group data and authors’ calculations. Note: ICR = Interest coverage ratio, or the ratio of earnings to interest payments. Net leverage is defined as the ratio of debt net of cash holdings to total equity.

janvier 2020

Billet n°150
Publié le 28/01/2020

La règle de Taylor fournit un parangon naturel du taux d’intérêt nominal à court terme, bien que sujet à une incertitude considérable. Ce billet quantifie cette incertitude et montre l’apport de cette quantification au diagnostic de politique monétaire. Il en ressort qu’en 2019 le taux d’intérêt à court terme en zone euro s’est situé proche du milieu de l’intervalle de référence ainsi obtenu.

Distribution des taux de Taylor, 2015-2019
Graphique 1 : Distribution des taux de Taylor, 2015-2019 Sources : Eurostat et calculs de l’auteur. Note : les zones en rose, du plus foncé au plus clair, indiquent les intervalles de confiance à 50%, 70% 80%, 90% et 95% des taux de Taylor.
Billet n°149
Publié le 22/01/2020

Par Stéphanie Lange-Gaumand (ambassade de France au Japon), Baptiste Meunier et Brieuc Monfort (Université Sophia, Japon, et FFJ-EHESS)

Le Japon se distingue par la précocité et l’ampleur du vieillissement : la part des plus de 65 ans y est la plus élevée du monde et la population devrait baisser de 40% d’ici 2100. Le Japon semble s’être accommodé du déclin démographique et s’est concentré sur la maîtrise des dépenses sociales, un choix révélateur de préférences nationales.

Graphique 1 – Contraction et vieillissement de la population
Graphique 1 – Contraction et vieillissement de la population Source : ONU (prévisions 2019)
Billet n°148
Publié le 17/01/2020

Par Antoine Lalliard, Julien Le Roux, Marie Delorme, William Honvo

Ce billet propose une mesure du pouvoir d’achat immobilier, en calculant pour une personne seule disposant du revenu moyen la surface accessible en m2 par le crédit immobilier (hors apport personnel), dans les principaux pays de la zone euro. Après une chute au cours des années 2000 du fait de la hausse des prix immobiliers (à l’exception notable de l’Allemagne), la surface accessible a augmenté depuis la crise de 2008, notamment grâce à la baisse des taux d’intérêt.

Graphique 1 : Surface accessible par le crédit en m² par pays
Graphique 1 : Surface accessible par le crédit en m² par pays Sources : Calculs auteurs ; Banque de France, OCDE, BCE, HouseLev
Billet n°147
Publié le 07/01/2020

Par Cyril Couaillier, Dorian Henricot et Julien Idier

On estime à 187 Mds€ la dette brute des entreprises dites « à risque » fin 2018 en France. Une hausse de 100 points de base de leurs coûts de financement pourrait entrainer une augmentation de ce montant de 60%, susceptible de fragiliser le système financier. Ce résultat conforte les mesures prises par le Haut Conseil de stabilité financière (HCSF) dès 2018 pour assurer la résilience du système bancaire.

Graphique 1 : Dette brute à risque des groupes français
Graphique 1 : Dette brute à risque des groupes français Source : FIBEN Groupe, calcul des auteurs. Note : ICR = Interest Coverage Ratio, soit le ratio de couverture des charges d’intérêt au regard des revenus ; levier net défini comme le ratio de la dette nette des liquidités sur les fonds propres.