Other sites of Banque de France

Language switcher

March 2018

By Marie-Élisabeth de la Serve, Sophie Haincourt, Clément Marsilli

Less than two months after the adoption of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, which cut individual income tax and corporate tax, US Congress passed a budget agreement that increases public spending for 2018 and 2019. The effects on the US economy represent a two-edged sword: an additional 1.4 percentage point of GDP over two years, but a widening of the trade and budget deficits to 4% and 6% of GDP respectively. The recent dollar depreciation may reflect the growing concerns of international investors

Chart1 – United States: federal budget balance and economic cycle since 1960 Sources: Data from the Bureau of Fiscal Service, Bureau of Labor Statistics and CBO; authors' calculations.

Were it easy to predict financial crises, it would be just as easy for the macroprudential authorities to prevent them. The statistical methods used for forecasting financial crises are greatly improving but have to contend with the fact that such events are (fortunately) rare and occur suddenly. In this article, we discuss the usefulness of early warning systems as well as their limitations on the grounds that the financial system is constantly evolving.

By Benoit Mojon and Xavier Ragot

The weakness of wage inflation may result in part from the increasing participation of older workers in the labour market. Over the last two decades, the participation rate of workers aged 55 to 64 has increased from 33% to 55% on average across OECD countries. We observe that, since 2013, the countries where this increase in labour supply has been the largest have also experienced slower wage inflation.

Figure 1: Wage inflation and the participation of older workers in the G7

Certain critics feel that the Eurosystem took excessive risks to fight the crisis by accepting poor quality collateral for its refinancing operations. Exhaustive analysis of the collateral pledged with the central bank disproves these claims. Their quality followed that of assets available on the market and improved significantly after Quantitative Easing was announced.

Chart 1. Average quality of assets pledged as collateral with the Eurosystem and assets available on the market (eligible for the central bank). Sources: Eurosystem, authors' calculations. Note: GIIPS refers to Greece, Ireland, Italy, Portugal and Spain. For the purpose of this article, only marketable securities are considered.

The US term premium (TP) has been very low by historical standards. Would its sudden rise affect the euro area (EA)? Lower US demand and tighter financial conditions would slow down EA activity. A surprise 1pp increase in US TP could reduce US and EA GDP growth by 0.4pp and 0.25pp respectively. Such effects would be smaller if the monetary authorities were to counteract the fall in inflation.

Figure 1: 10-year Term Premia in the United States, Germany and the euro area Note: The term premia of 10-year government bonds are estimated by NIESR. The euro area term premium is here calculated as ECB capital key weighted average of the term premia of the member countries.

By Eric Monnet and Angel Gomez

The difference in core inflation between the United States and the euro area is mainly due to housing rents. Since last year’s blogpost on the issue, this feature has become even more blatant: core inflation excluding housing rents is currently lower in the United States than in the euro area, whereas US core inflation is still much higher.

Chart 1: Core inflation vs. core inflation excluding housing rents (quarterly data). Sources: CPI (BLS) for the United States and HICP (Eurostat) for the euro area

In 2017, several studies revived the debate in the United States on the place of female economists in the profession and on the barriers to progress that had to be lifted. In most countries, women are poorly represented in all fields of economics (19% on average worldwide) and the situation is stagnating over time. However, significant differences exist between countries. In France, for example, women are a little more present, particularly among assistant professors.

Map 1: Proportion of female economists by country Source: Female representation in Economics, RePEc, January 2018.

Language switcher

mars 2018

Par Marie-Élisabeth de la Serve, Sophie Haincourt, Clément Marsilli

Moins de deux mois après l’adoption du Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, réduisant l’imposition des ménages et entreprises, le Congrès américain a voté un accord budgétaire qui accroît les dépenses publiques pour 2018 et 2019. Les effets sur l’économie américaine sont à double tranchant : 1,4 point de croissance supplémentaire sur deux ans mais creusement des déficits commercial et public à 4% et 6% du PIB respectivement. La dépréciation récente du dollar pourrait refléter les inquiétudes accrues des investisseurs internationaux.

Graphique 1 – États-Unis : solde fédéral et cycle économique depuis 1960 Sources : Données du Bureau of Fiscal Service, Bureau of Labor Statistics et CBO ; Calculs des auteurs.

Si prédire les crises financières était aisé, les éviter le serait tout autant pour les autorités macroprudentielles. Les méthodes statistiques de prévision des crises financières se perfectionnent mais se heurtent à la difficulté que ces dernières restent des événements rares (fort heureusement) et soudains. Nous exposons ici l’intérêt des « systèmes d’alerte avancée» tout en montrant les limites dues au fait que le système financier est en constante mutation.

Par Benoit Mojon et Xavier Ragot

La faiblesse de l’inflation salariale pourrait être un écho de la forte augmentation de l’offre de travail des plus de 55 ans. De fait, le taux de participation de ces travailleurs a considérablement augmenté depuis le milieu des années 1990. Il est passé de 33 à 55 % en moyenne dans l’OCDE. On observe que depuis 2013, les pays où cette augmentation de l’offre de travail des travailleurs en fin de carrière a le plus augmenté sont aussi ceux où l’inflation salariale a été la plus modérée.

Graphique 1: Inflation salariale et participation des travailleurs de plus de 55 dans les pays du G7

D’après certaines critiques, l’Eurosystème aurait pris trop de risques pour combattre la crise en acceptant des collatéraux de mauvaise qualité en garantie de ses opérations de refinancement. L’analyse exhaustive des collatéraux déposés auprès de la banque centrale conduit à réfuter ces critiques. Leur qualité a suivi celle des actifs disponibles sur le marché, et s’est fortement améliorée après l’annonce du Quantitative Easing.

Graphique 1. Qualité moyenne des actifs déposés en garantie auprès de l’Eurosystème et des actifs disponibles sur le marché (éligibles à la banque centrale) Source : Eurosystème, calculs des auteurs. Note : Les pays EPIGI sont l’Espagne, Portugal, Italie, Grèce, Irlande. Ne sont considérés ici que les actifs négociables.

La prime de terme US est très faible en comparaison historique. Une hausse inattendue de 1 point de pourcentage (pp) de cette prime pourrait réduire la croissance du PIB de 0,4 pp aux US et de 0,25 pp dans la zone euro. Ces effets seraient moins importants si les autorités monétaires contraient la baisse de l’inflation.

Figure 1 : Primes de terme à 10 ans aux États-Unis, en Allemagne et dans la zone euro Note : Les primes de terme sur les obligations publiques à 10 ans sont estimées par NIESR. La prime de terme dans la zone euro correspond ici à la moyenne des primes de terme des pays membres, pondérée de la clé de répartition du capital de la BCE.

Par Eric Monnet et Angel Gomez

L’écart d’inflation sous-jacente entre États-Unis (US) et zone euro (ZE) est dû essentiellement au poids des loyers dans les indices des prix. Depuis le billet de l’année dernière sur la question, ce constat est confirmé : l’inflation sous-jacente hors loyers est actuellement plus faible aux États-Unis qu’en zone euro, mais l’inflation sous-jacente reste nettement plus élevée aux États-Unis.

Graphique 1 : Inflation sous-jacente vs inflation sous-jacente hors loyers (données trimestrielles). Sources : IPC (BLS) pour les US et IPCH (Eurostat) pour la ZE

En 2017, diverses études ont relancé le débat aux États-Unis sur la place des femmes dans la profession d’économistes, ainsi que sur les freins à lever pour la développer. La part de femmes économistes est faible dans la plupart des pays (19 % en moyenne mondiale), dans tous les champs de l’économie et stagne dans le temps. Il existe cependant des différences entre pays. En France, par exemple, la part des femmes est un peu plus élevée, notamment pour les maîtres de conférence.

Carte 1 : Part de femmes-économistes par pays Source : Female representation in Economics, RePEc, janvier 2018