May 2022

Post n°271
Published on 05/25/2022

Eric Monnet, Angelo Riva and Stefano Ungaro

During the Great Depression, bank runs in France were characterised by a flight from banks to savings institutions, which were perceived as safer. Here, we identify and quantify the effects of these bank runs and analyse the conditions that led them to deepen the economic crisis.

Chart 1: Total deposits in banks and savings institutions, 1920-36
Chart 1: Total deposits in banks and savings institutions, 1920-36 Source : Baubeau, Monnet, Riva et Ungaro (2021)
Post n°270
Published on 05/16/2022

By Tristan Jourde

The Russian invasion of Ukraine led to a change in the structure of interconnections between financial markets. While the contagion effects have remained limited overall, the war has brought about new negative correlations between certain commodity indices (aluminium, oil, gold, silver, wheat) on the one hand, and equity markets, particularly in Europe, on the other.

Chart 1: Interconnections prior to the war in Ukraine Source: Refinitiv Datastream; author’s calculations. ISO codes : Australia (AUS), Canada (CAN), France (FRA), Germany (DEU), Italy (ITA), Japan (JPN), Netherlands (NLD), United Kingdom (GBR), United States (USA).
Post n°269
Published on 05/13/2022

So far in 2022, industry-level wage bargaining has generally resulted in wage increases of around 3% compared with rises of close to 1% in recent years. Inflation, which has been higher since the end of 2021, and the recent hike in the national minimum wage (NMW) are contributing to this stronger growth in negotiated wages.

Chart 1: Change in negotiated wages, the NMW and inflation (year-on-year % change)
Chart 1: Change in negotiated wages, the NMW and inflation (year-on-year % change) Source : INSEE (consumer price index – all households, and NMW), Banque de France (300 national, regional and departmental industries – private sector – wage floors).
Post n°268
Published on 05/11/2022

By Sebastian Stumpner

This blog post examines to what extent the recent surge in international transport costs has fuelled US import price inflation. While we find a moderate effect at the aggregate level, there are significant differences across products that are largely driven by the degree of containerisation.

Chart 1: The share of transport costs has increased only for containerised goods
Chart 1: The share of transport costs has increased only for containerised goods Source: Author’s calculations based on data from TradeDataMonitor.

mai 2022

Billet n°271
Publié le 25/05/2022

Par Eric Monnet, Angelo Riva et Stefano Ungaro

Durant la Grande Dépression, les ruées bancaires ont été caractérisées en France par une fuite des banques vers les Caisses d’épargne, jugées plus sûres. Nous distinguons et quantifions les effets de ces paniques bancaires et analysons les conditions les conduisant à renforcer la crise économique.

Graphique 1: Total de dépôts dans les banques et dans les Caisses d’Épargne, 1920-1936
Graphique 1: Total de dépôts dans les banques et dans les Caisses d’Épargne, 1920-1936 Source : Baubeau, Monnet, Riva et Ungaro (2021)
Billet n°270
Publié le 16/05/2022

Par Tristan Jourde

L’invasion russe en Ukraine a conduit à une modification de la structure des interconnexions entre les marchés financiers. Si les effets de contagion sont restés globalement limités, la guerre a fait émerger de nouvelles corrélations négatives entre, d’une part, certains indices de matières premières (aluminium, pétrole, or, argent, blé) et, d’autre part, les marchés actions, en particulier européens.

Graphique 1 : Réseau d’interconnexion avant la guerre en Ukraine
Graphique 1 : Réseau d’interconnexion avant la guerre en Ukraine Source: Refinitiv Datastream ; calculs de l’auteur. Codes ISO : Allemagne (DEU), Australie (AUS), Canada (CAN), États-Unis (USA), France (FRA), Italie (ITA), Japon (JPN), Pays-Bas (NLD), Royaume-Uni (GBR).
Billet n°269
Publié le 13/05/2022

Les négociations de salaire de branche pour 2022 se sont jusqu’ici généralement conclues par des hausses de salaire se situant autour de 3% alors qu’elles étaient plus proches de 1% ces dernières années. L’inflation, plus soutenue depuis fin 2021, et les hausses récentes du SMIC contribuent à cette croissance plus dynamique des salaires négociés.

Graphique 1 : Évolution des salaires négociés, du SMIC et de l’inflation (glissement annuel, %)
Graphique 1 : Évolution des salaires négociés, du SMIC et de l’inflation (glissement annuel, %) Source : Insee (indice des prix à la consommation – ensemble des ménages et SMIC), BDF (300 branches nationales, régionales et départementales – secteur privé - salaires minima).
Billet n°268
Publié le 11/05/2022

Par Sebastian Stumpner

Ce billet de blog examine dans quelle mesure la récente flambée des coûts de transport à l’international a alimenté l'inflation des prix à l'importation aux États-Unis. Si nous constatons un impact modéré au niveau global, d’importantes disparités, largement fonction du degré de conteneurisation, existent entre les produits.

Figure 1 : La part des coûts de transport n’a augmenté que pour les marchandises conteneurisées
Figure 1 : La part des coûts de transport n’a augmenté que pour les marchandises conteneurisées Source : Calculs des auteurs à partir de données du TradeDataMonitor