April 2022

Post n°267
Published on 04/28/2022

Rich households consume digital goods more intensively than poor households. As digitalisation makes some goods and services cheaper, higher-income households benefit more. Using US household data, this blog argues that the relative price effect of digitalisation is sizeable and amplifies the effects that digitalisation has on income inequality.

Chart 1: ICT intensity of consumption basket along the income distribution in the US
Chart 1: ICT intensity of consumption basket along the income distribution in the US Source: Arvai and Mann (2021) Note: The graph shows the share of information and communication technology (ICT) in the consumption basket by income percentile for different sub-periods.
Post n°266
Published on 04/20/2022

By Hyacinthe Buisson, Henri Fraisse and Matthias Laporte

The increasing use of artificial intelligence (AI) or machine learning (ML) techniques could allow banks to develop new credit risk models. These techniques could lead to substantial reductions in capital requirements. However, the opaque nature of these algorithms and the governance challenges they raise might make their adoption less attractive.

Chart 1: Neural network models could lead to substantial  reductions in capital requirements
Chart 1: Neural network models could lead to substantial reductions in capital requirements Source: Fraisse and Laporte (2022) forthcoming in the Journal of Banking and Finance.
Post n°265
Published on 04/01/2022

By Stéphane Dees, Jean-François Ouvrard and Pierre-François Weber

Macroeconomic and financial market disruptions linked to climate change and transition policies could affect the conduct of monetary policy. Climate risks could impair the monetary policy transmission channel, limit the monetary policy space for conventional tools and complicate the assessment of the monetary policy stance.

Chart 1: Inflation-output growth trade-off under a disorderly transition scenario
Chart 1: Inflation-output growth trade-off under a disorderly transition scenario Source: European Central Bank (ECB) calculations

avril 2022

Billet n°267
Publié le 28/04/2022

Les ménages aisés consomment davantage de biens numériques que les ménages pauvres. La numérisation rendant biens et services moins chers, les ménages aux revenus plus élevés en bénéficient d'avantage. En utilisant les données relatives aux ménages américains, ce billet soutient que l’effet prix relatif de la numérisation est significatif et amplifie les effets qu’elle exerce sur les inégalités de revenus.

Graphique 1 : Intensité en TIC du panier de consommation le long de la distribution des revenus aux États-Unis
Graphique 1 : Intensité en TIC du panier de consommation le long de la distribution des revenus aux États-Unis Source : Arvai et Mann (2021) Note : Le graphique présente la part des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) dans le panier de consommation par percentile de revenu pour différentes sous-périodes.
Billet n°266
Publié le 20/04/2022

Par Hyacinthe Buisson, Henri Fraisse et Matthias Laporte

La popularisation des techniques d’intelligence artificielle (IA) pourrait permettre aux banques de développer de nouveaux modèles de risque de crédit. Ceux-ci seraient susceptibles d’entrainer des baisses substantielles d’exigence de fonds propres. Pour autant, l’opacité de ces algorithmes et les défis de gouvernance qu’ils présentent pourraient freiner leur adoption.

Graphique 1 : Les modèles à réseaux de neurones conduisent à des réduction d’exigences en fonds propres parfois substantielles
Graphique 1 : Les modèles à réseaux de neurones conduisent à des réduction d’exigences en fonds propres parfois substantielles Source : Fraisse et Laporte (2022) à paraître dans le Journal of Banking and Finance.
Billet n°265
Publié le 01/04/2022

Par Stéphane Dees, Jean-François Ouvrard et Pierre-François Weber

Les perturbations macroéconomiques et sur les marchés financiers liées au changement climatique et aux politiques de transition pourraient affecter la conduite de la politique monétaire : les risques climatiques pourraient nuire à sa transmission, limiter ses marges de manœuvre dans l’utilisation des instruments conventionnels et compliquer l’évaluation de son orientation.

Figure 1 : Arbitrage entre inflation et croissance de la production  dans le cadre d’un scénario de transition désordonnée
Figure 1 : Arbitrage entre inflation et croissance de la production dans le cadre d’un scénario de transition désordonnée Source : Calculs de la Banque centrale européenne (BCE)