February 2022

Post n°257
Published on 02/25/2022

As part of the first climate pilot exercise, the Banque de France and the ACPR developed a series of models to quantify the financial risks associated with different climate transition scenarios. We present some of the results in this post. In some scenarios, the oil industry's probability of default is expected to increase by 400 bps, its credit spread by 30 bps and its stock market valuation is expected to decrease by 40-50% in 2050.

Chart 1: Changes in probabilities of default for the most affected sectors (PDs in bps in deviation from the orderly scenario)
Chart 1: Changes in probabilities of default for the most affected sectors (PDs in bps in deviation from the orderly scenario) Source: authors’ calculations.
Post n°256
Published on 02/11/2022

The increase in the money holdings by the non-financial sector in the euro area and the United States during the pandemic is explained by the strong increase in financial savings linked to public transfers and the sustained growth of loans, and in particular (in the euro area), government-guaranteed loans. Portfolio shifts strengthened the monetary dynamics in the United States, while they dampened them in the euro area.

Chart 1. Sources of change in money holdings by households in the euro area (Change in annual flows as a % of GDP)
Chart 1. Sources of change in money holdings by households in the euro area (Change in annual flows as a % of GDP) Source: Euro area sector accounts, ECB.
Post n°255
Published on 02/08/2022

By Annabelle de Gaye and Noëmie Lisack

In order to evaluate the financial risks linked to climate change, the Banque de France and ACPR have developed a suite of models that quantify adverse low-carbon transition scenarios for France. While the short-term macroeconomic effect is limited, the key impacts are located at the sector level and are strongly heterogeneous. A second blog post will examine the issue of financial stability.

Chart 1: Impact of disorderly transitions on total and sectoral activity in France in 2050 (compared with an orderly transition)
Chart 1: Impact of disorderly transitions on total and sectoral activity in France in 2050 (compared with an orderly transition) Source: Authors’ calculations
Post n°254
Published on 02/02/2022

By Antonin Bergeaud, Jean-Benoît Eymeoud, Thomas Garcia and Dorian Henricot

Corporate real estate market participants are starting to adjust to the take-off of teleworking in France. We show that teleworking already has an impact on the office real estate market. In French départements more exposed to teleworking, the Covid-19 crisis has led to higher vacancy rates, less construction, and lower prices. Forward-looking indicators suggest that market participants are expecting a lasting shift towards teleworking.

Chart 1a: Teleworking index by département
Chart 1a: Teleworking index by département Source: Bergeaud et al., 2021

février 2022

Billet n°257
Publié le 25/02/2022

Dans le cadre du premier exercice pilote climatique, la Banque de France et l’ACPR ont développé une suite de modèles pour quantifier les risques financiers associés à différents scénarios de transition climatique. Nous en présentons ici quelques résultats. Dans certains scénarios, la probabilité de défaut de l’industrie pétrolière augmenterait de 400 bps, son spread de crédit de 30 bps en 2050 et sa valorisation boursière serait amputée de 40% à 50%.

Graphique 1 : Évolution des probabilités de défaut pour les secteurs les plus affectés  (PDs en bps en déviation au scénario ordonné)
Graphique 1 : Évolution des probabilités de défaut pour les secteurs les plus affectés (PDs en bps en déviation au scénario ordonné) Source : calcul des auteurs.
Billet n°256
Publié le 11/02/2022

L’augmentation de la détention d’actifs monétaires par le secteur non-financier dans la zone euro et aux États-Unis pendant la pandémie s’explique par la forte progression de l’épargne financière liée aux transferts publics et à la croissance soutenue des prêts, et notamment, en zone euro, des prêts garantis par l’État. Les arbitrages de portefeuille ont renforcé la dynamique monétaire aux États-Unis alors qu’ils l’ont atténuée en zone euro.

Graphique 1. Sources d’évolution des actifs monétaires des ménages dans la zone euro (Variation des flux annuels en % du PIB)
Graphique 1. Sources d’évolution des actifs monétaires des ménages dans la zone euro (Variation des flux annuels en % du PIB)
Billet n°255
Publié le 08/02/2022

Par Annabelle de Gaye et Noëmie Lisack

Afin d’évaluer les risques financiers associés au changement climatique, la Banque de France et l’ACPR ont développé une suite de modèles quantifiant des scenarios adverses de transition bas carbone en France. Malgré un effet macroéconomique limité à court terme, les impacts-clés se situent au niveau sectoriel et sont fortement hétérogènes. Un second billet abordera la stabilité financière.

Graphique 1 : Impact des transitions désordonnées sur les niveaux d’activité totale et sectorielle en France en 2050 (par rapport à une transition ordonnée)
Graphique 1 : Impact des transitions désordonnées sur les niveaux d’activité totale et sectorielle en France en 2050 (par rapport à une transition ordonnée) Source : calculs des auteurs
Billet n°254
Publié le 02/02/2022

Par Antonin Bergeaud, Jean-Benoît Eymeoud, Thomas Garcia et Dorian Henricot

En France, le marché de l’immobilier d’entreprise commence à s’ajuster à l’essor du télétravail et son impact sur l’immobilier de bureaux est déjà visible. Dans les départements plus exposés au télétravail, la crise Covid-19 a entraîné une hausse des taux de vacance et une baisse de la construction et des prix. Les indicateurs de long terme suggèrent que les marchés anticipent une utilisation durable du télétravail.

Graphique 1a : Indice de télétravail par département
Graphique 1a : Indice de télétravail par département Source : Bergeaud et al., 2021.