January 2022

Post n°253
Published on 01/31/2022

By Julien André, Yannick Kalantzis , Antoine Lalliard and Paul Vertier

The harmonised measure of inflation currently published in the euro area does not take into account costs related to owner-occupied housing. There are several ways of capturing these costs, including the “imputed rent” and “net acquisition” approaches. Incorporating these costs into the measure of inflation produces different results depending on the method used, and the size and sign of the impact vary over time.

Chart 1: HICP and HICP augmented with imputed rents and with the acquisition price of housing in the euro area (% change year-on-year)
Chart 1: HICP and HICP augmented with imputed rents and with the acquisition price of housing in the euro area (% change year-on-year) Source: Eurostat for the HICP, Banque de France calculations for the augmented HICP. By convention, a weighting of 15% is applied to the price of owner-occupied housing in the euro area.
Post n°252
Published on 01/21/2022

Relative to demand factors, supply-side disruptions during the Covid-19 pandemic explain about 60% of longer delivery times and significantly dampened manufacturing output since 2020 in France. According to historical regularities, bottlenecks are expected to unwind in the course of 2022, while forecasts are surrounded by a high degree of uncertainty given the unusual origins of disruptions.

Chart 1: Shock decomposition – Suppliers’ delivery time and output PMI France
Chart 1: Shock decomposition – Suppliers’ delivery time and output PMI France Source: Markit, own calculations. Note: Demeaned index value and ppt. contributions, index increase = faster deliveries. Most recent observation: 2021M12.
Post n°251
Published on 01/18/2022

Both monetary and fiscal expansions have been needed during the past recent period in the euro area to sustain demand and inflation, mitigate the costs of the pandemic crisis and ensure a robust recovery. Conflicts of objectives between the two policies could, however, arise again in the future, in particular as a result of the ongoing accumulation of public debts and the large expansion of the Eurosystem’s balance sheet. Building on the work done during the recent ECB strategy review, this blog recalls the recent monetary and fiscal actions and presents some of the trade-offs for the post-pandemic period.

Chart 1. Public debt to GDP ratio in the euro area and for its largest countries (left hand side axis) and evolution of the Eurosystem balance sheet over GDP (right hand size axis)
Chart 1. Public debt to GDP ratio in the euro area and for its largest countries (left hand side axis) and evolution of the Eurosystem balance sheet over GDP (right hand size axis) Source: Eurostat, National accounts, Eurosystem data. Authors’ calculation.
Post n°250
Published on 01/14/2022

The Fed’s monetary policy influences firms’ debt composition. Conventional monetary policy (CMP) easing increases firms’ bank loans and reduces their bond issuance, while unconventional monetary policy (UMP) easing stimulates corporate bond issuance. UMP affects the US corporate debt structure through a portfolio-rebalancing channel, rather than a bank lending one.

Chart 1: Evolution of loans and debt securities of US non-financial corporations
Chart 1: Evolution of loans and debt securities of US non-financial corporations Source: Financial Accounts of the United States, L.103.
Post n°249
Published on 01/07/2022

By Gábor Fukker, Thibaud Piquard, Aurore Schilte and Matthias Sydow

The growth of non-bank financial intermediation calls for a more holistic risk assessment encompassing the entire financial system and the interactions between financial intermediaries. The incorporation of investment funds into a stress test for banks further increases the impact of a shock in terms of depletion of bank capital by 1%.

Chart 1: Representation of securities holdings networks for euro area banks and funds.
Chart 1: Representation of securities holdings networks for euro area banks and funds. Source: Sydow et al. (2021). Note: Each dot is an entity of all possible sectors. Each line shows that a bank (blue dot) or a fund (purple dot) holds a security issued by another entity.
Post n°248
Published on 01/05/2022

By Mathilde Salin, Romain Svartzman, Etienne Espagne, Julien Gauthey, Paul Hadji-Lazaro, Thomas Allen, Joshua Berger, Julien Calas, Antoine Godin and Antoine Vallier

Like climate change, biodiversity loss could be a source of financial risk. As a first analysis, we study the dependencies of the securities portfolio held by French financial institutions on ecosystem services, and the impacts on biodiversity of the activities financed.

Chart 1: Dependencies of the securities portfolio held by French financial institutions on ecosystem services
Chart 1: Dependencies of the securities portfolio held by French financial institutions on ecosystem services Source: Svartzman et al. (2021). Note: 42% of the value of the securities portfolio held by French financial institutions was issued by companies that are highly or very highly dependent on at least one ecosystem service.

janvier 2022

Billet n°253
Publié le 31/01/2022

Par Julien André, Yannick Kalantzis , Antoine Lalliard et Paul Vertier

Le coût des logements occupés par leurs propriétaires n’est pas pris en compte dans la mesure harmonisée de l’inflation publiée en zone euro. Plusieurs méthodes existent pour l’inclure, parmi lesquelles les loyers imputés ou les prix d’acquisition. Intégrer ce coût dans la mesure de l’inflation produit des effets différents selon la méthode retenue, avec des ampleurs et des signes variables au cours du temps.

Figure 1 :  IPCH et IPCH étendu avec les loyers imputés et le prix d’acquisition des logements en zone euro (glissement annuel, en %)
Figure 1 : IPCH et IPCH étendu avec les loyers imputés et le prix d’acquisition des logements en zone euro (glissement annuel, en %) Source : Eurostat pour l’IPCH, calculs Banque de France pour l’IPCH étendu. Par convention, le poids retenu pour le prix des logements occupés par leur propriétaire est de 15% pour la zone euro.
Billet n°252
Publié le 21/01/2022

Les perturbations de l’offre observées durant la pandémie de Covid-19 expliquent environ 60 % de l’allongement des délais de livraison (le reste étant imputable aux facteurs de demande) en France. Ces perturbations ont nettement freiné la production manufacturière depuis 2020. D’après les régularités historiques, les goulets d’étranglement devraient se résorber en 2022, mais ces prévisions sont entourées d’une forte incertitude liée aux origines inhabituelles des perturbations.

Graphique 1 : Décomposition du choc – Délai de livraison des fournisseurs et PMI de production manufacturière en France
Graphique 1 : Décomposition du choc – Délai de livraison des fournisseurs et PMI de production manufacturière en France Source : Markit, calculs de l’auteur. Note : Valeur d’indice centrée et contributions en points de pourcentage, augmentation de l’indice = livraisons plus rapides. Observation la plus récente : 2021 M12.
Billet n°251
Publié le 18/01/2022

Sur la période récente, l’expansion monétaire comme l’expansion budgétaire ont été nécessaires dans la zone euro pour soutenir la demande et l’inflation, réduire les coûts de la crise pandémique et garantir une reprise solide. Des conflits d’objectifs entre ces deux politiques pourraient cependant réapparaître dans le futur, notamment du fait de l’accumulation continue de dette publique et de la forte augmentation de la taille du bilan de l’Eurosystème. S’appuyant sur les travaux menés au cours de la récente évaluation stratégique de la BCE, ce billet rappelle les récentes mesures monétaires et budgétaires et présente certains des arbitrages pour la période post-pandémie.

Graphique 1. Ratio dette publique/PIB dans la zone euro et ses principaux pays (axe de gauche) et évolution du bilan de l’Eurosystème/PIB (axe de droite) Source : Eurostat, comptes nationaux, données de l’Eurosystème. Calculs des auteurs.
Billet n°250
Publié le 14/01/2022

La politique monétaire de la Fed influe sur la structure de la dette des entreprises américaines. Une politique monétaire (PM) conventionnelle expansionniste accroît les prêts bancaires des entreprises et réduit leurs émissions d’obligations, tandis qu’une PM non conventionnelle expansionniste stimule les émissions d’obligations via le canal du rééquilibrage des portefeuilles, plutôt que via celui des prêts bancaires.

Figure 1 : Évolution des prêts et des titres de dette des sociétés non financières aux États-Unis
Figure 1 : Évolution des prêts et des titres de dette des sociétés non financières aux États-Unis
Billet n°249
Publié le 07/01/2022

Gábor Fukker, Thibaud Piquard, Aurore Schilte et Matthias Sydow

Le développement de l’intermédiation financière non bancaire nécessite une évaluation plus globale des risques, couvrant l’intégralité du système financier et les interactions entre intermédiaires financiers. La prise en compte des fonds d’investissement dans un stress test bancaire accroît de 1 % la diminution des fonds propres bancaires.

Figure 1 : Représentation des réseaux de détentions de titres pour les banques et les fonds de la zone euro
Figure 1 : Représentation des réseaux de détention de titres pour les banques et les fonds de la zone euro Source : Sydow et al. (2021). Note : Chaque point correspond à une entité d’un des secteurs considérés. Chaque trait montre qu’une banque (point bleu) ou un fonds (point violet) détient un titre émis par une autre entité.
Billet n°248
Publié le 05/01/2022

Par Mathilde Salin, Romain Svartzman, Etienne Espagne, Julien Gauthey, Paul Hadji-Lazaro, Thomas Allen, Joshua Berger, Julien Calas, Antoine Godin et Antoine Vallier

Comme le changement climatique, la perte de biodiversité pourrait être porteuse de risques financiers. À titre de première analyse, nous étudions d’une part les dépendances du portefeuille de titres détenu par les institutions financières françaises aux services rendus par les écosystèmes, et d’autre part les impacts sur la biodiversité des activités financées.

Graphique 1 : Dépendances du portefeuille de titres détenus par les institutions financières françaises aux services écosystémiques
Graphique 1 : Dépendances du portefeuille de titres détenus par les institutions financières françaises aux services écosystémiques Source : Svartzman et al. (2021) Note : 42% de la valeur du portefeuille de titres détenus par les institutions financières françaises a été émise par des entreprises qui dépendent fortement ou très fortement d’au moins un service écosystémique.