June 2021

Post n°221
Published on 06/25/2021

By Hadrien Camatte, Théophile Legrand and Quoc-Trieu Le

Assessing investor risk appetite is essential for financial stability and market analysis. This post looks at a risk appetite indicator developed by Banque de France staff and gives insights into its contribution to understanding market impact since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Chart 1: Risk appetite indicator since early 2020
Chart 1: Risk appetite indicator since early 2020 Sources: Bloomberg, authors’ calculations.
Post n°220
Published on 06/18/2021

By Thomas Ferrière and Dorian Henricot

The price dynamics of corporate and residential real estate are highly correlated in France, both historically and geographically. The health crisis is firstly an asymmetrical shock affecting primarily the demand for corporate real estate. Nevertheless, we show that a fall in prices in this sector could affect residential property prices, particularly in areas where supply is most constrained.

Chart 1: annual growth of office and residential real estate prices as a national average, and distribution by département.
Chart 1: annual growth of office and residential real estate prices as a national average, and distribution by département.
Post n°219
Published on 06/15/2021

By Vanessa Doucinet, David Ly and Ghjuvanni Torre

Between the end of December 2019 and the end of March 2021, companies' gross debt increased by EUR 224 billion, while their cash position rose by EUR 215 billion. Based on a first analysis of the 205,392 balance sheets received by the Banque de France, it is possible to break down these overall reassuring figures in more detail: 6 to 7% of the total number of rated companies could face difficulties when the support measures are lifted.

Chart 1: Changes in companies’ gross financial debt and cash position Source: Banque de France - Companies Directorate. Key: “sensitive” quadrant, red disk: 11.4% of companies that have not taken out a State-guaranteed loan (SGL) whose gross debt has increased by 22% and cash position has decreased by 33%.
Post n°218
Published on 06/02/2021

By Julia Schmidt and Olivier Sirello

Since the onset of the pandemic in 2020, euro area residents have sharply adjusted their international portfolio investments. Significant sales of foreign assets in March 2020 were followed by large purchases of foreign securities. At the same time, non-residents have purchased euro area debt securities, especially short-term debt.

Chart 1: The euro area has purchased US securities on a massive scale since the second quarter of 2020
Chart 1: The euro area has purchased US securities on a massive scale since the second quarter of 2020 Source: European Central Bank.

juin 2021

Billet n°221
Publié le 25/06/2021

Par Hadrien CAMATTE, Théophile LEGRAND et Quoc-Trieu LE

L'évaluation du degré d'appétit des investisseurs pour le risque est d’intérêt pour la stabilité financière et pour l’analyse des marchés. Ce billet présente un indicateur d’appétit pour le risque développé à la Banque de France et illustre son apport à la compréhension des impacts de marché depuis le début de la crise de la COVID-19.

Graphique 1 : Indicateur d’appétit pour le risque depuis début 2020
Graphique 1 : Indicateur d’appétit pour le risque depuis début 2020 Sources : Bloomberg, calculs des auteurs
Billet n°220
Publié le 18/06/2021

Par Thomas Ferrière, Dorian Henricot 

Les dynamiques de prix de l’immobilier professionnel et de l’immobilier résidentiel sont très corrélées en France, à la fois historiquement et géographiquement. La crise sanitaire constitue initialement un choc asymétrique affectant plutôt la demande d’immobilier professionnel. Nous montrons néanmoins qu’une baisse des prix dans ce secteur pourrait affecter les prix de l’immobilier résidentiel, particulièrement dans les zones où l’offre est la plus contrainte.

Graphique 1 : croissance annuelle des prix des bureaux et des logements en moyenne nationale, et distribution par département.
Graphique 1 : croissance annuelle des prix des bureaux et des logements en moyenne nationale, et distribution par département.
Billet n°219
Publié le 11/06/2021

Par Vanessa Doucinet, David Ly et Ghjuvanni Torre

Entre fin décembre 2019 et fin mars 2021, la dette brute des entreprises s’est accrue de 224 milliards d’euros, tandis que leur trésorerie a progressé de 215 milliards. Une première analyse des 205 392 bilans reçus par la Banque de France permet de décomposer plus finement ces chiffres globalement rassurants : 6 à 7% du total des entreprises cotées pourraient être confrontées à des difficultés lors de la levée des mesures d’accompagnement.

Graphique 1 : évolution de l’endettement financier brut et de la trésorerie des entreprises étudiées Source : Banque de France – Direction des entreprises. Lecture du quadrant sensible, disque rouge : 11,4% d’entreprises n’ayant pas souscrit de PGE dont l’endettement brut a augmenté de 22% et la trésorerie a diminué de 33%.
Billet n°218
Publié le 02/06/2021

Par Julia Schmidt et Olivier Sirello

Depuis le début de la pandémie en 2020, les résidents de la zone euro ont fortement ajusté leurs investissements de portefeuille à l’international. De fortes ventes d’actifs étrangers en mars 2020 ont été suivies par des achats importants de titres à l’étranger. En parallèle, les non-résidents ont acheté des titres de dette émis par la zone euro, notamment de court terme.

Graphique 1:  la zone euro a massivement acheté des titres américains à partir du deuxième trimestre 2020
Graphique 1: la zone euro a massivement acheté des titres américains à partir du deuxième trimestre 2020 Source : Banque Centrale Européenne.