May 2021

Post n°217
Published on 05/18/2021

Despite significant international financial support, low-income countries (LICs) are likely to be more affected by the crisis than advanced or emerging countries. Strengthening the IMF's financial safety net for LICs is in everyone's interest, in order to prevent these countries from becoming weak links in global risks, such as those related to health or climate change.

Chart 1: Average per capita GDP growth
Chart 1: Average per capita GDP growth Source: IMF (WEO, REO, April 2021)
Post n°216
Published on 05/12/2021

By Grâce Constant, Andréa Tran Van Hong and Marie Rouger 

In the face of the Covid-19 crisis, New Caledonia’s economy, which is highly dependent on nickel, is showing some resilience thanks to the buoyant global nickel market, while French Polynesia’s economy is being harder hit by the lockdown measures due to the high weight of tourism. The impact of the crisis is nonetheless being limited by non-market services, which are a key source of resilience in both territories.

Chart 1: Economic characteristics of the French overseas collectivities in the Pacific Ocean
Chart 1: Economic characteristics of the French overseas collectivities in the Pacific Ocean Source: Institut National de la Statistique et des Études Économiques (INSEE – French National Institute for Statistics and Economic Research).
Post n°215
Published on 05/07/2021

By Florian Bonnet, Hippolyte d’Albis and Aurélie Sotura

Over the past century, income disparities per adult between départements have been steadily decreasing. The low-income diagonal, which used to be very marked from the north-west to the south-east, has given way to a "low population density diagonal" which now runs from the north-east to the south-west.

Chart 1. Gini coefficient of income per adult between the 90 départments, 1922-2015
Chart 1. Gini coefficient of income per adult between the 90 départments, 1922-2015 Sources: tax records and authors' calculations
Post n°214
Published on 05/05/2021

By Mathilde Gerardin and Jean-François Ouvrard

In the Monthly Business Survey (MBS) carried out at the end of February/beginning of March 2021, business leaders were asked about the organisational costs associated with COVID and their ability to pass them on to their selling prices. These costs may be high for some sectors but their ability to pass them on to prices appears to be generally limited. Ultimately, the direct and indirect impact on the general level of consumer prices should therefore be small, between 0.1 and 0.3 percentage point, but these costs could affect the margins of some companies.

Chart 1: Direct impact on selling prices of the additional costs generated by the health measures
Chart 1: Direct impact on selling prices of the additional costs generated by the health measures Source: The Banque de France's monthly business survey

mai 2021

Billet n°217
Publié le 18/05/2021

En dépit de soutiens financiers internationaux significatifs, les pays à faible revenu (PFR) devraient garder de la crise des séquelles plus fortes que les pays avancés ou émergents. Renforcer le filet de sécurité financière mis en place par le FMI pour les PFR est dans l’intérêt de tous, afin d’éviter que ces pays ne deviennent les maillons faibles des risques mondiaux, notamment sanitaires ou climatiques.

Graphique 1 : Évolution moyenne du PIB par tête
Graphique 1 : Évolution moyenne du PIB par tête Source : FMI (WEO, REO, avril 2021)
Billet n°216
Publié le 12/05/2021

Par Grâce Constant, Andréa Tran Van Hong et Marie Rouger 

Face à la crise de la Covid-19, alors que l’économie de la Nouvelle-Calédonie, fortement dépendante du nickel, résiste dans un marché mondial bien orienté, celle de la Polynésie Française se montre plus vulnérable aux restrictions sanitaires, compte tenu du poids du tourisme. L’impact est toutefois limité grâce aux services non marchands, facteur important de résilience dans les deux territoires.

Graphique 1 : Caractéristiques économiques des collectivités d’outre-mer (COM) dans l’Océan Pacifique.
Graphique 1 : Caractéristiques économiques des collectivités d’outre-mer (COM) dans l’Océan Pacifique. Source : Insee
Billet n°215
Publié le 07/05/2021

Par Florian Bonnet, Hippolyte d’Albis et Aurélie Sotura

Depuis cent ans, les écarts de revenus interdépartementaux par adulte n’ont cessé de diminuer. La diagonale des faibles revenus, autrefois très marquée du nord-ouest au sud-est, a laissé place à une « diagonale des faibles densités de population » qui s’étend aujourd’hui du nord-est au sud-ouest.

Graphique 1. Coefficient de Gini du revenu par adulte entre les 90 départements, 1922-2015
Graphique 1. Coefficient de Gini du revenu par adulte entre les 90 départements, 1922-2015 Source : archives fiscales et calculs des auteurs.
Billet n°214
Publié le 05/05/2021

Par Mathilde Gerardin et Jean-François Ouvrard

Dans l’Enquête Mensuelle de Conjoncture (EMC) réalisée fin février-début mars 2021, les chefs d’entreprise ont été interrogés sur les coûts organisationnels liés à la COVID et leur capacité à les répercuter dans leurs prix de vente. Ces coûts sont parfois élevés pour certains secteurs mais la capacité à les transmettre aux prix serait en général limitée. Au final, les conséquences directes et indirectes sur le niveau général des prix à la consommation seraient donc a priori faibles, entre 0,1 à 0,3 point de pourcentage, mais ces coûts pourraient peser sur les marges de certaines entreprises.

Graphique 1 : Impact direct sur les prix de vente des surcoûts liés aux mesures sanitaires (en %)
Graphique 1 : Impact direct sur les prix de vente des surcoûts liés aux mesures sanitaires (en %) Source : Enquête mensuelle de conjoncture de la Banque de France Note : Dans les services à la personne, l’impact moyen des surcoûts liés aux mesures sanitaires sur le prix final payé par le client est de 0,56 %.