April 2021

Post n°213
Published on 04/28/2021

By Rafael Cezar and Fabio Grieco

While the principle of a European Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism (CBAM) has been agreed on, discussions as to its calibration are still underway. This post presents three scenarios in which the calculation of the tax base and the scope of the mechanism vary. These choices have significant consequences: the gains in terms of CO2 reduction can vary by a factor of three, depending on the scenario chosen.

Chart 1: Short-term impact of the CBAM on EU imports and import-related emissions
Chart 1: Short-term impact of the CBAM on EU imports and import-related emissions Source: authors' calculations, OECD, CEPII, Cezar & Polge (2020).
Post n°212
Published on 04/23/2021

by Sylvérie Herbert, Maria Sole Pagliari and Adrian Penalver

For several decades, advanced economies have seen their borrowing costs decrease, including amid the coronavirus pandemic. This is especially true at the long end of the yield curve. Even long-term bonds issued by some private corporations in the euro area trade at negative interest rates. This decrease in borrowing costs primarily reflects a decline in the natural real rate of interest due to population ageing and slower productivity growth, as well as the more recent compression of the long end of the yield curve resulting from central banks’ bond purchases.

Chart 1: 10-year sovereign yields and asset purchases
Chart 1: 10-year sovereign yields and asset purchases Sources: Bloomberg, ECB
Post n°211
Published on 04/22/2021

By Benjamin Bureau, Anne Duquerroy, Mathias Lé and Frédéric Vinas (Banque de France), Julien Giorgi and Suzanne Scott (INSEE)

Since the start of the public health crisis, the Banque de France and INSEE have compiled a monthly estimate of the loss of activity in each sector, notably via their monthly economic surveys and their monitoring of high-frequency data. The monthly surveys have proved to be a reliable and almost real-time indicator of the impact of the restrictions, and have on the whole been confirmed by the national quarterly accounts. In parallel, the Banque de France and INSEE have launched a joint project which differs from these surveys but complements them in terms of methodology: using real turnover data for individual firms (measured using VAT returns), they compare ex-post the “activity shock” with a counterfactual of what turnover would have been without the. This makes it possible to carry out an analysis at a more granular level, within individual sectors. This blog post presents the first results of this project, which are consistent with our monthly surveys. They will be supplemented with an ex-post analysis of firms’ cash and financial positions.

Chart 1 – Evolution of the aggregate shock to activity over 2020
Chart 1 – Evolution of the aggregate shock to activity over 2020 Source: VAT data (DGFiP) and authors’ calculations.
Post n°210
Published on 04/14/2021

By Oustry Antoine, Erkan Bünyamin, Svartzman Romain and Weber Pierre-François

The securities accepted as a guarantee under the Eurosystem collateral framework are not, in aggregate, “aligned” with the climate targets of the Paris Agreement. They can therefore be considered to be exposed to so-called “transition” risks related to climate change. Technically, it would be possible to ensure that the collateral pools pledged by each counterparty are more aligned, but this raises methodological questions.

Chart 1: Coverage rate and climate alignment of the pools of collateral pledged by Eurosystem counterparties, based on the methodology developed by Carbon4Finance
Chart 1: Coverage rate and climate alignment of the pools of collateral pledged by Eurosystem counterparties, based on the methodology developed by Carbon4Finance Sources: Carbon4Finance, Eurosystem and authors’ calculations.

avril 2021

Billet n°213
Publié le 28/04/2021

Par Rafael Cezar et Fabio Grieco

Si le principe d’un mécanisme d’ajustement carbone aux frontières (MACF) de l’Europe est prévu, son calibrage reste débattu. Ce billet présente trois scénarios faisant varier les modalités de calcul de l’assiette et le périmètre du mécanisme. Ces choix ont des conséquences importantes : les gains en termes de réduction de CO2 peuvent varier du simple au triple selon le scénario choisi.

Billet n°212
Publié le 23/04/2021

Par Sylvérie Herbert, Maria Sole Pagliari et Adrian Penalver

Les coûts d’emprunt diminuent dans les économies avancées depuis plusieurs décennies, en particulier sur la partie longue de la courbe des rendements, et sans que la pandémie de coronavirus n’interrompe cette évolution. Même les obligations à long terme émises par certaines sociétés privées dans la zone euro se négocient à des taux d’intérêt négatifs. Cette diminution des coûts d’emprunt reflète principalement une baisse du taux d’intérêt naturel réel causée par le vieillissement de la population et le ralentissement de la croissance de la productivité, mais aussi une compression plus récente de la partie longue de la courbe des rendements sous l’effet des achats d’obligations par les banques centrales.

Figure 1 : Rendements souverains à dix ans et achats d’actifs
Figure 1 : Rendements souverains à dix ans et achats d’actifs Sources : Bloomberg, BCE.
Billet n°211
Publié le 20/04/2021

Par Benjamin Bureau, Anne Duquerroy, Mathias Lé et Frédéric Vinas (Banque de France), Julien Giorgi et Suzanne Scott (Insee)

Depuis le début de la crise sanitaire, la Banque de France et l’INSEE estiment chaque mois la perte d’activité des entreprises, secteur par secteur. Ces enquêtes mensuelles se sont avérées être un baromètre fiable et quasiment en temps réel de l’effet des restrictions. Parallèlement, nos deux institutions ont lancé un travail commun, différent et complémentaire sur le plan méthodologique : il est fondé ex post sur les chiffres d’affaires réels des entreprises (mesurés par les déclarations de TVA), il compare le « choc d’activité » à un contrefactuel qu’aurait été le chiffre d’affaires en l’absence de choc sanitaire, et il permet une analyse plus fine infrasecteur. Ce blog en présente les premiers résultats, cohérents avec nos enquêtes mensuelles. Ils seront ensuite prolongés par une analyse ex post de la situation de trésorerie et financière des entreprises.

Graphique 1 - Évolution du choc d’activité économique agrégé au cours de l’année 2020
Graphique 1 - Évolution du choc d’activité économique agrégé au cours de l’année 2020 Source : données de TVA (DGFiP). Calculs des auteurs
Billet n°210
Publié le 14/04/2021

Par Oustry Antoine, Erkan Bünyamin, Svartzman Romain et Weber Pierre-François

Les titres acceptés en garantie par l’Eurosystème dans le cadre de sa politique de collatéral ne sont dans l’ensemble pas « alignés » sur les objectifs climatiques de l’Accord de Paris, et sont donc a priori exposés aux risques climatiques dits de transition. Un meilleur « alignement » des pools de collatéral mobilisés par chaque contrepartie semble techniquement possible, mais soulève des questions méthodologiques.

Chart 1: Coverage rate and climate alignment of the pools of collateral pledged by Eurosystem counterparties, based on the methodology developed by Carbon4Finance
Graphique 1 : Taux de couverture des données et « alignement » climatique des pools de collatéral mobilisés par les contreparties de l’Eurosystème, selon la méthodologie développée par Carbon4Finance Sources : Carbon4Finance, Eurosystème, calcul des auteurs