March 2021

Post n°209
Published on 03/25/2021

By Emmanuel Cerclé, Hervé Le Bihan and Michaël Monot

Central banks' balance sheets have grown significantly, as a result of the "non-standard" monetary policies conducted in response to the 2008 crisis and the Covid-19 crisis. Reflecting the net asset purchase programmes in place, they are still expanding. However, over the longer term, their size could stabilise and then gradually decline once inflation has consistently returned to close to its target. Adjusting the size of their balance sheets should nevertheless remain in central banks' toolbox.

Chart1: Balance sheets of the Eurosystem, the FED and the BoJ  (in amounts and as a % of GDP)
Chart1: Balance sheets of the Eurosystem, the FED and the BoJ (in amounts and as a % of GDP) Source: ECB, FED, BoJ, Eurostat Note: Top panel: amount in billions of euros (G€), dollars (G$), and yen (G¥). Bottom panel: as a % of GDP.
Post n°208
Published on 03/12/2021

By Samuel Bieber

The two-tier system, which has been in place for over a year in the euro area, exempts part of banks' excess reserve holdings with the central bank from negative remuneration. This system aims to support the bank-based transmission of monetary policy. It has not unduly influenced money market rates.

Chart 1: Excess reserves exempted and non-exempted from negative remuneration (EUR billion)
Chart 1: Excess reserves exempted and non-exempted from negative remuneration (EUR billion) Source: Banque de France, European Central Bank
Post n°207
Published on 03/08/2021

The Covid-19 crisis has had a profound impact on the organisation of labour. Women have been on the front line both in tackling the virus and in looking after their family and relatives in these difficult times. Their participation in the labour market has not been significantly affected, thanks both to public aid policies and to their efforts in balancing their professional and private responsibilities.

Chart 1: Change in the employment rate by gender, comparison between the Great Recession and the Covid crisis – Q4 2008 and 2019 = 100
Chart 1: Change in the employment rate by gender, comparison between the Great Recession and the Covid crisis – Q4 2008 and 2019 = 100 Source: INSEE. Key: The female employment rate fell by 0.3 percentage point between Q4 2019 and Q1 2020.
Post n°206
Published on 03/03/2021

By Stefan Gebauer, Jean-François Ouvrard and Camille Thubin

We study the role of precautionary savings in the recent rise in French household savings. Using different approaches, we show that elevated uncertainty contributed to the surge in savings in 2020, notably in the first lockdown. For the whole year, however, uncertainty effects were small compared to the contribution of administrative spending constraints.

Figure 1: Household savings ratio in France (in % of disposable income)
Figure 1: Household savings ratio in France (in % of disposable income) Source: INSEE (most recent observation: 2020Q4). Note: Household savings in per cent of gross disposable income. Most recent observation: 2020Q4.

mars 2021

Billet n°209
Publié le 25/03/2021

Par Emmanuel Cerclé, Hervé Le Bihan et Michaël Monot

Les bilans des banques centrales ont fortement augmenté, sous l’effet des politiques monétaires « non conventionnelles » mises en place face à la crise de 2008, puis à celle de la Covid-19. En raison des programmes d’achats nets d’actifs en place, ils sont encore en expansion. Toutefois, à plus long terme, leur taille pourrait se stabiliser, puis se replier graduellement, lorsque l’inflation sera durablement revenue au voisinage de l’objectif. L’ajustement de la taille de leur bilan devrait néanmoins demeurer dans la boîte à outils des banques centrales.

Graphique 1 : Évolution des bilans de l’Eurosystème, de la FED et la BoJ (en montant et en % du PIB) Source : BCE, FED, BoJ, Eurostat
Billet n°208
Publié le 12/03/2021

Par Samuel Bieber

Le tiering, ou mécanisme à 2 paliers, appliqué depuis plus d’un an dans la zone euro, permet d’exempter de taux d’intérêt négatifs une partie des réserves détenues par les banques auprès de la banque centrale. Ce mécanisme a été mis en place afin de soutenir la transmission de la politique monétaire par le canal des banques. Il n’a pas eu d’effets indésirables sur les taux du marché monétaire.

Graphique 1 : Excédents de liquidité exemptés et non exemptés de taux négatifs (milliards d’euros)
Graphique 1 : Excédents de liquidité exemptés et non exemptés de taux négatifs (milliards d’euros) Source : Banque de France, Banque centrale européenne
Billet n°207
Publié le 08/03/2021

La crise de la Covid-19 a bouleversé l’organisation du travail. Les femmes ont été à la fois en première ligne pour affronter le virus et présentes pour s’occuper de leurs proches dans ces temps difficiles. Leur participation au marché du travail a été peu affectée en raison des politiques publiques d’accompagnement et de leurs efforts dans la gestion du temps personnel et professionnel.

Graphique 1 : Évolution du taux d'emploi par sexe, comparaison entre la « Grande récession » et la crise de la Covid - base 100 aux T4 2008 et 2019
Graphique 1 : Évolution du taux d'emploi par sexe, comparaison entre la « Grande récession » et la crise de la Covid - base 100 aux T4 2008 et 2019 Source : Insee. Note de lecture : Le taux d’emploi des femmes a diminué de 0,3 point de pourcentage entre le T4 2019 et le T1 2020.
Billet n°206
Publié le 03/03/2021

Par Stefan Gebauer, Jean-François Ouvrard et Camille Thubin

Nous étudions le rôle des motifs de précaution dans la récente hausse de l’épargne des ménages français. Différentes approches montrent que l’incertitude élevée a contribué à la forte hausse de l’épargne en 2020, notamment durant le premier confinement. Sur l’année entière, cependant, les effets d’incertitude ont été faibles comparés à la contribution des restrictions administratives sur les dépenses.

Figure 1 : Taux d’épargne des ménages en France (en % du revenu disponible)
Figure 1 : Taux d’épargne des ménages en France (en % du revenu disponible) Source : INSEE (observation la plus récente : T4 2020). Note : Épargne des ménages en % du revenu disponible brut. Observation la plus récente : T4 2020.