February 2021

Post n°205
Published on 02/23/2021

By Olivier de Bandt, Jean-Charles Bricongne and Lionel Fontagné

The environment that economic policy makers face today is characterised by both a large amount of uncertainty and a high level of globalisation. This blog post highlights a perception of increasing uncertainty by economic agents when external shocks become more frequent, and a faster transmission of these shocks when the economy is more open, or when traded goods are produced within more sophisticated "value chains". Globalisation has thus heightened the macroeconomic impact of uncertainty on the real economy, amplifying the consequences of international uncertainty shocks.

Chart 1: Uncertainty and openness of the euro area current account (1999-2019)
Chart 1: Uncertainty and openness of the euro area current account (1999-2019)
Post n°204
Published on 02/17/2021

By Raphaël Cancé, Jean-François Ouvrard and Camille Thubin

The health crisis has caused an unprecedented economic shock. In this post, we describe its different channels using the FR-BDF forecasting model. In 2020, shocks to private domestic demand and to trade performance dominate. In 2021 and 2022, public support is expected to speed up economic recovery, but supply shocks should slow down the rebound.

Chart 1: Deviation of projected activity in December 2020 from the pre-crisis path
Chart 1: Deviation of projected activity in December 2020 from the pre-crisis path Source: Banque de France (FR-BDF model, December 2020 macroeconomic projections)
Post n°203
Published on 02/10/2021

How would the impact of a European carbon tax on the French economy differ from that in the rest of the EU? The medium-run impact on value added would be 20% lower in France than in the rest of the EU. This divergence would stem more from differences in the sectoral structure of the economy (the weight of those sectors most affected, inter-sectoral flows) than from differences in carbon intensity between homologous sectors.

Chart 1: Breakdown by sector of the impact on real value added in France and in the rest of the EU
Chart 1: Breakdown by sector of the impact on real value added in France and in the rest of the EU Source: Authors' calculations.
Post n°202
Published on 02/03/2021

By Jérémi Montornès and Marie-Baïanne Khder

The authors belonged to the Economic Studies and National Accounts Directorate at Insee when they wrote the article from which this blog post is derived. The authors would like to thank D. Blanchet for his helpful comments when writing the article. They remain solely responsible for any errors and omissions.

Irish GDP growth over the recent period has been strongly influenced by transfers from US multinationals. These transactions have increased since 2015. Changes in Irish GDP and its components now reflect multinationals’ choice of location in addition to cyclical fluctuations.

Chart 1: Quarterly changes in GDP and GNI in volume  (in %, adjusted for seasonal and working day variations)
Chart 1: Quarterly changes in GDP and GNI in volume (in %, adjusted for seasonal and working day variations) Source: Central Statistics Office (CSO), national accounts

février 2021

Billet n°205
Publié le 23/02/2021

Par Olivier de Bandt, Jean-Charles Bricongne et Lionel Fontagné

L’environnement auquel font face les décideurs de politique économique aujourd’hui est caractérisé à la fois par une forte incertitude et un haut niveau de mondialisation. Le billet met en évidence une perception d’incertitude croissante par les agents économiques lorsque des chocs externes se multiplient, et une transmission plus rapide de ces chocs lorsque l’économie est plus ouverte, ou que les biens échangés sont produits au sein de « chaines de valeur » plus sophistiquées. La mondialisation a donc accru l'impact macroéconomique de l'incertitude sur l'économie réelle, amplifiant les conséquences des chocs d'incertitude internationaux.

Graphique 1 : Incertitude et ouverture du compte courant de la zone euro (1999-2019
Graphique 1 : Incertitude et ouverture du compte courant de la zone euro (1999-2019)
Billet n°204
Publié le 17/02/2021

Par Raphaël Cancé, Jean-François Ouvrard et Camille Thubin

La crise sanitaire provoque un choc économique sans précédent. Nous décrivons dans ce billet ses différents canaux à l’aide du modèle de prévision FR-BDF. En 2020, les chocs sur la demande intérieure privée et sur la performance commerciale dominent. En 2021 et 2022, le soutien public accélèrerait le redressement de l’économie, mais des chocs sur l’offre freineraient la reprise.

Graphique 1 : Écart entre l’activité projetée en décembre 2020 et la trajectoire avant-crise
Graphique 1 : Écart entre l’activité projetée en décembre 2020 et la trajectoire avant-crise Source: Banque de France (modèle FR-BDF, prévisions de décembre 2020)
Billet n°203
Publié le 10/02/2021

Quel serait l’effet économique d’une taxe carbone européenne en France comparativement au reste de l’UE ? L’impact à moyen terme sur la valeur ajoutée y serait 20% moins fort que dans le reste de l’UE. Cet écart résulterait davantage de différences de structure sectorielle (poids des secteurs les plus touchés, flux intersectoriels) que de différences d’intensité carbone entre secteurs homologues.

Graphique 1 : Décomposition sectorielle de l’impact sur la valeur ajoutée réelle en France et dans le reste de l’UE
Graphique 1 : Décomposition sectorielle de l’impact sur la valeur ajoutée réelle en France et dans le reste de l’UE Source : Calcul des auteurs
Billet n°202
Publié le 03/02/2021

Par Jérémi Montornès et Marie-Baïanne Khder

Les auteurs faisaient partie de la Direction des études et synthèses économiques de l’Insee lors de la rédaction de l’article dont le billet est tiré. Les auteurs remercient D. Blanchet pour ses conseils et suggestions lors de la rédaction de l’article. Ils demeurent seuls responsables des erreurs et omissions.

La croissance du PIB irlandais sur la période récente est fortement influencée par les transferts de multinationales américaines. Ces opérations se sont intensifiées depuis 2015. Les évolutions du PIB irlandais et de ses composantes ne reflètent plus seulement les fluctuations conjoncturelles mais aussi les choix de localisation d’activité des multinationales.

Graphique 1 : Évolution trimestrielle du PIB et du RNB en volume (en %, cvs-cjo)
Graphique 1 : Évolution trimestrielle du PIB et du RNB en volume (en %, cvs-cjo) Source : CSO, Comptes nationaux