January 2021

Post n°201
Published on 01/27/2021

By Dominique Durant, Kevin Parra Ramirez, Geneviève Toubol

The descriptive data associated with large enterprise identifiers (LEIs) provide up-to-date information on groups’ ownership structure, as well as on the legal form and location of their operations, including those in off-shore financial centres (OFCs). Extending the obligation to have an LEI would thus help to make global financial transactions more transparent.

Chart 1: Distribution of locations of foreign subsidiaries, by parent company nationality
Chart 1: Distribution of locations of foreign subsidiaries, by parent company nationality
Post n°200
Published on 01/22/2021

By Ivan Odonnat

Interest rate benchmarks, which are used to price money-market instruments as well as numerous financial contracts (bank overdrafts, real estate loans, bond debt, etc.), are only relevant if they are reliable and representative of the actual financing conditions experienced by economic agents. At the global level, they underpin some USD 350 trillion worth of financial instruments and contracts.

Chart 1: Evolution of interest rate benchmarks in the euro area
Chart 1: Evolution of interest rate benchmarks in the euro area Sources: EMMI and ECB.
Post n°199
Published on 01/12/2021

By Antonin Bergeaud and Simon Ray

The health restrictions put in place in France and the rest of Europe have obliged firms and workers to resort to teleworking on a massive scale. By breaking down some of the existing barriers to home-working, this shock will probably mark a turning point in the use of teleworking. This in turn has major implications for workers, businesses and the economy.

Chart 1:  Cross-department heterogeneity in potential for teleworking
Chart 1: Cross-department heterogeneity in potential for teleworking Source: DADS, Dingel and Neiman (2020) and DARES (2019)
Published on 01/07/2021

Eco Notepad celebrated its fourth birthday in December 2020: we’ve published nearly 200 posts in English and French and our readership keeps on growing! 2020 was a reminder of just how important it is to have rapidly available, relevant information in order to make sense of economic events as they happen.

Post n°198
Published on 01/05/2021

Teleworking has increased sharply with the Covid-19 crisis and is likely to remain widespread in the future. This could have favourable effects on firms’ productivity, notably through the accelerated diffusion of technologies. However, the academic literature stresses that adequate preparation will be needed in order to reap the full benefits of this favourable impact.

Chart 1: Inverted-U relationship between teleworking intensity (as a proportion of working time) and productivity for two different activities Inspired by the OECD (2020)

janvier 2021

Billet n°201
Publié le 27/01/2021

Par Dominique Durant, Kevin Parra Ramirez, Geneviève Toubol

Les éléments descriptifs associés à l’identifiant international des entités légales ou « LEI » apportent une information à jour sur la structure des groupes, la forme juridique et la localisation de leurs implantations, y compris dans les centres financiers off-shore (CFOs). Étendre l’obligation d’avoir un LEI contribuerait ainsi à une plus grande transparence des transactions financières internationales.

Graphique 1 : Répartition de la localisation des filiales étrangères, selon la nationalité du parent
Graphique 1 : Répartition de la localisation des filiales étrangères, selon la nationalité du parent Source : Global LEI Fundation (GLEIF) – Calculs des auteurs Note : 22% des filiales d’entreprises enregistrées aux États-Unis, Royaume-Uni, Canada, Australie et Nouvelle-Zélande sont localisées dans les CFOs non européens
Billet n°200
Publié le 22/01/2021

Par Ivan Odonnat

Les taux d’intérêt de référence, qui servent à valoriser les instruments du marché monétaire et au-delà de nombreux contrats financiers (découverts bancaires, crédits immobiliers, emprunts obligataires, etc.), ne sont pertinents que s’ils sont fiables et représentatifs des conditions de financement des agents économiques. L’encours concerné équivaut à quelque 350 trillions USD au plan mondial !

Graphique 1 : Évolution des indices de référence dans la zone euro
Graphique 1 : Évolution des indices de référence dans la zone euro Sources : EMMI et BCE
Billet n°199
Publié le 12/01/2021

Par Antonin Bergeaud et Simon Ray

Les mesures sanitaires prises en France et dans le reste de l’Europe ont contraint les entreprises et les travailleurs à mettre en place un télétravail généralisé. En ayant permis de faire sauter un certain nombre de verrous, ce choc marquera sans aucun doute un tournant dans le recours au télétravail, avec des implications importantes pour les employés, les entreprises et l’économie.

Graphique 1 : Hétérogénéité des potentialités de télétravail par département
Graphique 1 : Hétérogénéité des potentialités de télétravail par département Source : DADS, Dingel et Neiman (2020) et DARES (2019)
Publié le 06/01/2021

Bloc-notes Eco a eu quatre ans en décembre 2020 : près de 200 billets publiés en anglais et en français ; une audience en croissance continue ! 2020 a rappelé à quel point la mise à disposition d’informations pertinentes dans de brefs délais est nécessaire à la bonne compréhension et interprétation de l’actualité économique.

Billet n°198
Publié le 05/01/2021

Le télétravail a connu un fort développement avec le Covid-19 et devrait rester une pratique commune dans le futur. Cela pourrait se traduire par des effets favorables sur la productivité des entreprises notamment à travers l’accélération de la diffusion des technologies. Mais la littérature économique souligne que le plein bénéfice de cet effet favorable appelle une préparation appropriée.

Figure 1: Relation en U inversée entre intensité du télétravail (en proportion de la durée travaillée) et productivité pour deux activités différentes
Figure 1: Relation en U inversée entre intensité du télétravail (en proportion de la durée travaillée) et productivité pour deux activités différentes Inspirée de OCDE (2020)