October 2020

Post n°186
Published on 10/20/2020

Preserving companies' investment capacity as they emerge from the Covid-19 crisis is a key issue of economic policy, as shown by the emergency measures taken by the ECB and, in France, by the government. Indeed, access to external financing is a major determinant of investment. A financing shock, such as the 2008 crisis, could lead to a sharp decline in the investment rate of major French groups.

Cost of external financing for non-financial corporations (%)
Chart 1. Cost of external financing for non-financial corporations (%) Source: Gilchrist and Mojon (2017)
Post n°185
Published on 10/15/2020

By Sylvie Bonneau

During the lockdown, the Banque de France's network of VSE-SME correspondents was greatly called upon to guide entrepreneurs in their requests for financing. Managers' concerns changed during this period.

Chart 1 – Managers’ meetings with VSE-SME correspondents and crisis-related needs
Chart 1 – Managers’ meetings with VSE-SME correspondents and crisis-related needs Source: Banque de France
Post n°184
Published on 10/07/2020

By Florian Le Gallo and Kevin Schmitt

The Covid-19 pandemic has severely disrupted international tourism. As foreign traveller surveys are no longer conducted, the Banque de France has brought into play innovative information sources, such as payment card data, to assess the scale of the shock. After a massive drop in receipts since March, European visitors returned to France during the two summer months.

Chart 1: France’s international tourism receipts (in EUR billions) Source: Banque de France.
Post n°183
Published on 10/02/2020

By Luc Jacolin and Khalil Bechchani

Official development assistance (ODA) should be bolstered in 2020 by the international response to the Covid-19 crisis, whose impact in low-income countries is still uncertain. The main challenge is to ensure that the efforts undertaken will be sufficient and sustainable: increasing ODA is desirable if the sustainable development goals for 2030 are not to be compromised.

Chart 1: Changes in financial flows entering LICs (in USD billions)
Chart 1: Changes in financial flows entering LICs (in USD billions) Sources: World Bank, OECD and Banque de France estimates for 2020.

octobre 2020

Billet n°186
Publié le 20/10/2020

Par Anne Duquerroy et Clément Mazet-Sonilhac

Préserver la capacité d’investir des entreprises au sortir de la crise du Covid-19 est un enjeu central de politique économique, comme le montrent les mesures d’urgence prises par la BCE et, en France, par le gouvernement. En effet, l’accès au financement externe est un déterminant majeur de l’investissement. Un choc de financement, à l’exemple de la crise de 2008, serait susceptible d’entrainer une forte contraction du taux d’investissement des grands groupes français.

Coût du financement externe des entreprises non financières (en %)
Graphique 1. Coût du financement externe des entreprises non financières (en %) Source : Gilchrist et Mojon (2017)
Billet n°185
Publié le 15/10/2020

Par Sylvie Bonneau

Le réseau des correspondants départementaux TPE-PME de la Banque de France a été très fortement sollicité pendant la période de confinement pour guider les entrepreneurs dans leurs demandes de financement. Les préoccupations des dirigeants ont évolué au cours de cette période.

Graphique 1 - Évolution des rendez-vous dirigeants et des besoins liés à la crise
Graphique 1 - Évolution des rendez-vous dirigeants et des besoins liés à la crise Source : Banque de France
Billet n°184
Publié le 07/10/2020

Par Florian Le Gallo et Kevin Schmitt

La pandémie de Covid-19 a fortement ébranlé le tourisme international. Avec l’arrêt des enquêtes auprès des voyageurs étrangers, la Banque de France a mobilisé des sources innovantes, telles que les données de cartes de paiement, afin d’estimer l’ampleur du choc. Après une chute massive des recettes depuis mars, les deux mois d’été sont marqués par un retour des visiteurs européens.

Graphique 1 : recettes du tourisme international pour la France (milliards d’euros)
Graphique 1 : recettes du tourisme international pour la France (milliards d’euros) Source : Banque de France
Billet n°183
Publié le 02/10/2020

Par Luc Jacolin et Khalil Bechchani

L’aide publique au développement (APD) devrait être soutenue en 2020 par la réponse internationale à la crise de la Covid-19, dont l’impact est encore incertain dans les pays à faible revenu. L’enjeu principal est de s’assurer que les efforts consentis seront suffisants et pérennes : une hausse de l’APD est souhaitable, sauf à compromettre les objectifs de développement durable à l’horizon 2030.

Graphique 1 : Évolution des flux financiers entrants dans les PFR
Graphique 1 : Évolution des flux financiers entrants dans les PFR Source : Banque Mondiale, OCDE, estimations Banque de France 2020.