August 2020

Post n°178
Published on 08/20/2020

Are the effects of a fiscal stimulus greater in situations in which central banks are stuck at the zero lower bound (ZLB)? The question is still debated in the economic literature but some empirical evidence suggests that the ZLB per se does not seem to increase the effects of a fiscal stimulus, while economic slack and loose monetary policy do: this bodes well for the fiscal response to the covi19 crisis.

Source: Glocker, Sestieri and Towbin (2019).
Figure 1. UK fiscal multiplier of output Source: Glocker, Sestieri and Towbin (2019).
Post n°177
Published on 08/13/2020

The health crisis has severely impacted global trade and revived debates about the location of production. The widespread onshoring of manufacturing activities would mean abandoning the gains from international specialisation, but without necessarily making value chains more resilient. Given that French companies mainly source their inputs from Europe, a coordinated, EU-wide industrial strategy seems more appropriate.

Chart 1: Percentage change in volumes of manufacturing output and external trade between January-April 2019 and January-April 2020
Chart 1: Percentage change in volumes of manufacturing output and external trade between January-April 2019 and January-April 2020 Source: CPB World Trade Monitor. Authors' calculations.
Post n°176
Published on 08/05/2020

By Annabelle de Gaye, Cristina Jude

In the wake of the Covid-19 crisis, the US authorities adopted an unprecedented set of fiscal measures, targeting households in particular. These measures aim at preserving the purchasing power of US households, but less than half of this additional income should be spent.

Chart 1. Compared fiscal policy responses 2020/2008
Chart 1. Compared fiscal policy responses 2020/2008 Source: Congressional Budget Office (CBO)

août 2020

Billet n°178
Publié le 20/08/2020

Les effets d’un stimulus budgétaire sont-ils plus importants à la borne zéro des taux d’intérêt ? Certaines études empiriques suggèrent que la borne zéro ne semble pas en soi accroître les effets d’un stimulus budgétaire, contrairement à la sous-utilisation des capacités de production et à une politique monétaire accommodante, ce qui est de bon augure pour la réponse budgétaire à la crise de la Covid-19.

Figure 1. Multiplicateur budgétaire du PIB : cas du Royaume-Uni
Multiplicateur budgétaire du PIB : cas du Royaume-Uni Source : Glocker, Sestieri et Towbin (2019)
Billet n°177
Publié le 13/08/2020

La crise sanitaire a fortement impacté le commerce mondial et a redonné de la vigueur aux débats relatifs à la localisation de la production. La relocalisation généralisée des activités sur le territoire national conduirait à abandonner les gains à la spécialisation internationale, sans pour autant apporter une meilleure résilience des chaines de valeur. Les sources d’approvisionnement des entreprises françaises étant principalement européennes, une stratégie industrielle coordonnée à l’échelle de l’Union serait pertinente.

Graphique 1 : Taux de variation (en volume) de la production industrielle et du commerce extérieur entre janvier-avril 2019 et janvier-avril 2020
Graphique 1 : Taux de variation (en volume) de la production industrielle et du commerce extérieur entre janvier-avril 2019 et janvier-avril 2020 Source : CPB World Trade-Monitor. Calculs des auteurs.
Billet n°176
Publié le 05/08/2020

Par Annabelle de Gaye, Cristina Jude

À la suite de la crise de la Covid-19, les autorités américaines ont adopté des mesures de soutien d’une ampleur inédite, qui visent en particulier les ménages. Elles permettraient de préserver le pouvoir d’achat des ménages américains, mais moins de la moitié de ces revenus supplémentaires seraient dépensés.

Graphique 1. Réponses comparées de politique budgétaire 2020/2008
Graphique 1. Réponses comparées de politique budgétaire 2020/2008 Source : Congressional Budget Office (CBO)