July 2020

Post n°175
Published on 07/31/2020

By Raymond de Pastor

The health crisis has left a significant number of businesses in urgent need of cash. In response, public authorities have put in place various support mechanisms, including a scheme to provide State-Guaranteed Loans (SGLs). The credit mediation system is currently helping businesses that have received an initial refusal from a bank in response to their SGL request.

Number of requests for credit mediation from businesses (monthly average)
Chart 1: Number of requests for credit mediation from businesses (monthly average) Source: Banque de France, Credit Mediation Scheme for Businesses
Post n°174
Published on 07/28/2020

By Barbara Castelletti, Marie Delorme, Pavel Diev, Yannick Kalantzis, Antoine Lalliard and Matteo Mogliani

The COVID-19 crisis has required a real-time monitoring of economic activity, which has not been possible with the usual data. However, by using high-frequency data, such as electricity consumption and credit card transactions, it has been possible to estimate the magnitude of the shock and the timing of the rebound at an early stage, for both industrial production and for household consumption.

Chart 1: Impact of the health crisis on household consumption and firms' electricity consumption  (%)
Chart 1: Impact of the health crisis on household consumption and firms' electricity consumption (%) Note: Deviation from a normal level (households) or from the historical average (firms). Household consumption is estimated by credit card transactions. Electricity consumption is adjusted for temperatures and working days.
Post n°173
Published on 07/24/2020

By Olivier de Bandt, Sandrine Lecarpentier and Cyril Pouvelle

Bank solvency and liquidity risks mutually interact. Using a model that simultaneously estimates the solvency and liquidity ratios of French banks, it is possible to incorporate them jointly into a stress scenario. It shows that the financial environment has a significant impact, but only in times of crisis, and that solvency has an impact on liquidity, not vice versa.

Chart 1: Solvency ratio and liquidity ratio of French banks since 1993
Chart 1: Solvency ratio and liquidity ratio of French banks since 1993 Sources: ACPR, authors’ calculations.
Post n°172
Published on 07/22/2020

By Martial Delmas, Lucas Devigne, Emmanuelle Politronacci, Ghjuvanni Torre

The demand for banknotes in the euro area has grown faster than GDP since the creation of the euro. Yet, paradoxically, the use of cash as a means of payment is tending to decline. The increase in the demand for banknotes seems to be mainly due to an increase in precautionary demand from economic agents.

Chart 1:  Continual rise in nominal net banknote issuance (% of GDP)
Chart 1: Continual rise in nominal net banknote issuance (% of GDP) Sources: Banque de France (BdF), Currency Information System (CIS) of the Eurosystem and OECD
Post n°171
Published on 07/17/2020

By Erwan GAUTIER, Youssef ULGAZI, Paul VERTIER

During the lockdown, inflation in France fell sharply while households expected a sharp increase. The profound and sudden change in the structure of household consumption and the strong dispersion of price changes for commonly purchased goods (fresh food, fuel) could explain this unprecedented divergence, which is set to narrow.

Inflation and households’ inflation expectations in France
Chart 1: Inflation and households’ inflation expectations in France Sources: European Commission and Eurostat. Note: y-axis: balance of opinion on price developments over the next 12 months; x-axis: year-on-year % change in the HICP in France. Each point represents a date.
Post n°170
Published on 07/07/2020

US dollar funding costs in foreign exchange markets rose sharply in March 2020 when the supply of US dollars in FX swap markets dried up with the onset of the pandemic. Central banks reacted quickly by activating swap lines, which enabled them to provide US dollar liquidity to banks in their jurisdictions.

Covered Interest Parity deviations in 2020
Chart 1: Covered Interest Parity deviations in 2020 Source: Datastream, FRED. Author’s calculations.
Post n°169
Published on 07/03/2020

Climate policy has so far had limited results despite national commitments under the Paris agreement. Various scenarios establishing a cost-benefit balance of this policy bring to light the main obstacles it is facing. Its net gains are highly significant but remote in time and very unevenly distributed between countries.

Chart 1: Impact on world GDP of global warming and climate policies (as a % of GDP)
Chart 1: Impact on world GDP of global warming and climate policies (as a % of GDP) Source : Alestra, Cette, Chouard and Lecat (2020)

juillet 2020

Billet n°175
Publié le 31/07/2020

Par Raymond de Pastor

La crise sanitaire a provoqué des besoins de trésorerie pour un grand nombre d’entreprises. Pour répondre à cette situation, les pouvoirs publics ont notamment mis en place des dispositifs d’appui, en particulier le Prêt Garanti par l’Etat (PGE). Dans la période actuelle, la médiation du crédit accompagne les entreprises dont la demande de PGE a été refusée une première fois par une banque.

Nombre de saisines de la médiation du crédit aux entreprises  (moyenne mensuelle)
Graphique 1 : Nombre de saisines de la médiation du crédit aux entreprises (moyenne mensuelle) Source : Banque de France, Médiation du crédit aux entreprises
Billet n°174
Publié le 28/07/2020

Par Barbara Castelletti, Marie Delorme, Pavel Diev, Yannick Kalantzis, Antoine Lalliard et Matteo Mogliani

La crise de la COVID-19 a demandé un suivi de l’activité en temps réel, que ne permettaient pas les statistiques usuelles. Des données à haute fréquence, comme la consommation d’électricité et les transactions par carte bancaire, ont en revanche permis d’estimer de façon précoce l’ampleur du choc et le moment du rebond, pour la production des entreprises et pour la consommation des ménages.

Graphique 1 : Effet de la crise sanitaire sur la consommation des ménages  et la consommation d’électricité des entreprises (en %)
Graphique 1 : Effet de la crise sanitaire sur la consommation des ménages et la consommation d’électricité des entreprises (en %) Note : Écart à un niveau normal (ménages) ou à la moyenne historique (entreprises). La consommation des ménages est estimée par les transactions par cartes bancaires. La consommation d’électricité est corrigée des températures et des jours ouvrés.
Billet n°173
Publié le 24/07/2020

Par Olivier de Bandt, Sandrine Lecarpentier et Cyril Pouvelle

Les risques de solvabilité et de liquidité bancaires interagissent entre eux. Un modèle estimant simultanément des ratios de solvabilité et de liquidité des banques françaises permet de les projeter dans un scénario de stress. Il montre que l’environnement financier a un impact significatif, mais uniquement en période de crise, et que la solvabilité a un effet sur la liquidité, et non l’inverse.

Graphique 1 : Ratio de solvabilité et coefficient de liquidité des banques françaises depuis 1993
Graphique 1 : Ratio de solvabilité et coefficient de liquidité des banques françaises depuis 1993 Source : ACPR ; calculs des auteurs
Billet n°172
Publié le 22/07/2020

Par Martial Delmas, Lucas Devigne, Emmanuelle Politronacci, Ghjuvanni Torre

La demande de monnaie fiduciaire de la zone euro affiche une croissance supérieure à celle du PIB depuis la création de l’euro. Pourtant, paradoxalement, l’usage des espèces en tant que moyen de paiement a tendance à décliner. La hausse de la demande de billets semble essentiellement due à une augmentation de la demande de précaution émanant des agents économiques.

Graphique 1 :  Progression continue des émissions nettes nominales de billets (en % du PIB)
Graphique 1 : Progression continue des émissions nettes nominales de billets (en % du PIB) Sources : Banque de France (BdF), Currency Information System (CIS) de l’Eurosystème et OCDE
Billet n°171
Publié le 17/07/2020

Par Erwan GAUTIER, Youssef ULGAZI, Paul VERTIER

Lors du confinement, l’inflation en France a fortement reculé alors que les ménages anticipaient une nette augmentation. Le changement profond et soudain de la structure de consommation des ménages et la forte dispersion des variations de prix de biens couramment achetés (produits frais, carburants) pourraient expliquer cet écart inédit qui est appelé à se réduire.

Graphique 1 : Inflation et anticipation d’inflation des ménages en France
Graphique 1 : Inflation et anticipation d’inflation des ménages en France Sources : Commission Européenne et Eurostat
Billet n°170
Publié le 07/07/2020

Les coûts du financement en dollar américain sur les marchés des changes ont fortement augmenté en mars 2020, quand l’offre de cette devise sur les marchés des swaps de change s’est tarie avec l’émergence de la pandémie. Les banques centrales ont réagi rapidement en activant des lignes de swap leur permettant de fournir de la liquidité en dollar aux banques de leurs juridictions.

Graphique 1 : Écarts par rapport à la parité des taux d’intérêt couverte en 2020 Source : Datastream, FRED. Calculs de l’auteur.
Billet n°169
Publié le 03/07/2020

La politique climatique a eu pour l’instant des résultats limités malgré les engagements nationaux dans le cadre de l’accord de Paris. Des scénarios permettant d’établir le bilan coûts/avantages de cette politique mettent en évidence les principaux obstacles auxquels elle se heurte. Ses gains nets sont très significatifs mais éloignés dans le temps et très inégalement répartis entre pays.

Impact sur le PIB mondial du réchauffement et des politiques climatiques (en % du PIB)
Figure 1 : Impact sur le PIB mondial du réchauffement et des politiques climatiques (en % du PIB)