June 2020

Post n°168
Published on 06/30/2020

With nominal interest rates close to zero, the scope for using conventional monetary policy becomes very limited. However, this liquidity trap does not undermine central banks’ capacity for action. A recent study shows that they can stimulate the economy even in periods of low interest rates, and that they are therefore equipped to act effectively in response to the Covid-19 crisis.

Chart 1 – The effect of monetary easing remains positive in the euro area in ELB times
Chart 1 – The effect of monetary easing remains positive in the euro area in ELB times Source: Lhuissier, Mojon and Jubio-Ramirez (2020). NB: The accommodative monetary policy decision (“monetary policy shock”) corresponds to a fall in two-year sovereign interest rates of the order of 10 basis points.
Post n°167
Published on 06/25/2020

We assess the link between banks' commitments to take climate issues seriously, measured by a climate performance rating based on their declarations, and the changes in their lending in France to greenhouse gas emitting industries between 2010 and 2017. A higher score appears to be associated with lower growth in lending to large enterprises in the five most carbon-intensive industries. However, lending to SMEs is not affected.

Chart 1: Banks’ pro-climate commitments and share of loans to firms in the most carbon-intensive industries in France.
Chart 1: Banks’ pro-climate commitments and share of loans to firms in the most carbon-intensive industries in France. Source: Banque de France, authors’ calculations.
Post n°166
Published on 06/12/2020

The Eurosystem responded quickly to the COVID-19 crisis, deploying significant measures to support the provision of financing to the economy through the bank lending and market financing channels. The measures take three forms: credit operations have been adjusted and extended, collateral easing measures have been introduced, and securities purchase programmes have been strengthened.

Table: main monetary policy decisions taken in March-June 2020
Table: main monetary policy decisions taken in March-June 2020 Source: Banque de France
Post n°165
Published on 06/10/2020

Sharp increases in government debt have occurred in post-war periods. While inflation, albeit at times moderate, was the norm in the 20th century, this had not occurred in previous centuries, even though wars had led to similar increases in public debt. One of the reasons for this is that this debt was set aside in a sinking fund for repayment at a later date.

Chart 1: Inflation and government debt in the United Kingdom (1700-1950)
Chart 1: Inflation and government debt in the United Kingdom (1700-1950) Source: Bank of England
Post n°164
Published on 06/05/2020

The Covid-19 pandemic has prompted lender-of-last-resort interventions and massive asset purchases by central banks. Such responses are all the more necessary since the transmission of monetary policy to the real economy is asymmetric. Evidence suggests that the effects of an expansionary monetary policy are more limited than those of a contractionary policy. One reason lies in the existence of downward bank lending rate rigidity.

Chart 1 - Year-on-year changes in Eonia and bank lending rates in the euro area (per cent)
Chart 1 - Year-on-year changes in Eonia and bank lending rates in the euro area (per cent) Source: Levieuge and Sahuc (2020)

juin 2020

Billet n°168
Publié le 30/06/2020

En présence de taux d’intérêt nominaux avoisinant zéro, la politique monétaire conventionnelle ne peut plus guère être utilisée. Cette situation de trappe à liquidité ne sape cependant pas la capacité d’action des banques centrales. Une étude récente montre qu’elles peuvent stimuler l’économie même en période de taux bas, et donc qu’elles sont aptes à agir efficacement face à la crise du Covid-19.

Graphique 1 – L’effet d’un assouplissement monétaire reste positif sur la zone euro dans un régime de taux bas
Graphique 1 – L’effet d’un assouplissement monétaire reste positif sur la zone euro dans un régime de taux bas Source : Lhuissier, Mojon, et Jubio-Ramirez (2020). Note : La décision monétaire accommodante (« choc monétaire ») représente une baisse du taux souverain à 2 ans de l’ordre de 10 points de base.
Billet n°167
Publié le 25/06/2020

Nous évaluons le lien entre la prise en compte des enjeux climatiques par les banques, mesuré par une note de performance climatique s’appuyant sur leurs déclarations, et l’évolution de leurs crédits en France à des industries plus ou moins émettrices de gaz à effet de serre entre 2010 et 2017. Une meilleure note apparait bien associée à une plus faible croissance des prêts aux grandes entreprises des cinq industries les plus carbonées. L’activité de prêts aux PME n’est toutefois pas affectée.

Graphique 1 : Niveau de prise en compte des enjeux climatiques déclaré par les banques et prêts aux industries les plus carbonées en France. Source : Banque de France, calculs de l’auteur.
Billet n°166
Publié le 12/06/2020

En réponse à la crise du COVID-19, l’Eurosystème a très vite mis en œuvre plusieurs mesures importantes pour soutenir le financement de l‘économie par le canal du crédit bancaire et celui du financement de marché. Ces mesures sont de trois ordres : adaptation et extension des opérations de crédit, assouplissement du dispositif de garanties, renforcement des programmes d’achat de titres.

Tableau : principales décisions de politique monétaire prises en mars-juin 2020
Tableau : principales décisions de politique monétaire prises en mars-juin 2020 Source : Banque de France
Billet n°165
Publié le 10/06/2020

Les fortes augmentations de la dette publique ont suivi les guerres. Si au 20ième siècle elles ont en général débouché sur une forte inflation, cela n’avait pas été le cas lors des siècles précédents. Une des raisons est le cantonnement de cette dette afin de reporter son remboursement dans le futur.

Graphique 1 : Inflation et dette publique au Royaume Uni (1700-1950)
Graphique 1 : Inflation et dette publique au Royaume Uni (1700-1950) Source : Banque d’Angleterre
Billet n°164
Publié le 05/06/2020

Face à la pandémie de Covid-19, les interventions de prêteur en dernier ressort et les achats massifs d’actifs par les banques centrales s’imposaient d’autant plus que la transmission de la politique monétaire à l’économie réelle est asymétrique. En effet, une politique monétaire expansionniste a des effets plus limités qu’une politique restrictive, notamment en raison de la rigidité à la baisse des taux débiteurs bancaires.

Figure 1 - Variations annuelles de l’Eonia et des taux débiteurs bancaires dans la zone euro (%)
Figure 1 - Variations annuelles de l’Eonia et des taux débiteurs bancaires dans la zone euro (%) Source : Levieuge et Sahuc (2020)