September 2019

By Sanvi Avouyi-Dovi, Pierre Bui-Quang et Pierre Sicsic

The primary income surplus has been growing for several years. Since 2010, the increase of around EUR 10 billion in the income of French residents working abroad has been higher than that of direct investment (DI) income. The improvement in the income balance is now driven by employee compensation.

Chart 1: A significant improvement in the balance of compensation of cross-border commuters since 2010
Chart 1: A significant improvement in the balance of compensation of cross-border commuters since 2010 Source: Banque de France’s Annual Report on the Balance of Payments. Note: primary income surplus expressed in billions of euro (EUR bn). PI: Portfolio investment; OI: Other investment

By Irena Peresa and Edouard Vidon

Amid slowing growth and corporate deleveraging, State intervention in certain Chinese banks is again on the table. 20 years ago, asset management companies (AMCs) were set up to bolster the largest lenders, but their purpose has radically changed since. To address current bad loan issues, the priority should be to develop the secondary NPL market.

Figure 1: Four AMCs were originally set up to bolster the largest state-owned banks Source: Authors

By Yannick Kalantzis and Camille Thubin

The trade balance as a share of GDP reflects decisions regarding consumption, and therefore saving, and investment. Over the past 40 years, its dynamics in France have been dominated by the cycle of construction: the balance deteriorates in boom phases. The rise in household saving, which contributed to the surplus of the 1990s, was offset after the crisis by a higher share of government consumption in GDP.

Chart 1: Contributions to the Trade Balance,% of GDP in deviation from 1981
Chart 1: Contributions to the Trade Balance,% of GDP in deviation from 1981 Source: INSEE.

What are French banks and insurers doing to prepare for climate change? Where do they stand in terms of implementing France’s Energy Transition Law? Our analyses show significant though mixed progress with regard to transparency and governance of risks, and a growing but still incomplete recognition of climate risk as a financial risk.

Chart 1: Geographical breakdown of the exposures of French banks
Chart 1: Geographical breakdown of the exposures of French banks Source: ACPR. Note: as a percentage of total outstanding amounts for the 7 main French banks at 30 June 2018

By Philippe Aghion (Collège de France and LSE), Antonin Bergeaud (Banque de France), Richard Blundell (UCL and IFS) and Rachel Griffith (University of Manchester and IFS)

Technical progress forces workers to adapt to new production methods. It thus favours the most highly skilled workers as they earn relatively higher wages than the least skilled. However some less qualified employees can also benefit from these technical changes provided, they have the skills sought after by innovative firms.

Chart 1: Average hourly wage by age and skill level for low-skilled occupation workers in innovative and non-innovative firms
Chart 1: Average hourly wage by age and skill level for low-skilled occupation workers in innovative and non-innovative firms Note: Data for the United Kingdom taken from the Annual Survey of Hours and Earnings, matched to the Business Expenditure on Research and Development survey (2004-2016). Hourly wages in GBP on a logarithmic scale. Source: Aghion et al. (2019).

Overall, French prudential policies entail a reduction in foreign banks’ lending to French residents. Yet some measures may lead to undesired leakages that potentially undermine authorities’ goals: foreign bank affiliates’ exposure to France rose by 1.1% (up EUR 1.5 billion) on average over 2011-17 owing to the implementation of Basel capital requirements.

Chart 1: Foreign banks’ exposures to France (as a % of total bank debt of French residents)
Chart 1: Foreign banks’ exposures to France (as a % of total bank debt of French residents) Source: BIS Consolidated Banking Statistics (CBS) – Immediate Borrower (IB) and authors’ calculations.

septembre 2019

Par Sanvi Avouyi-Dovi, Pierre Bui-Quang et Pierre Sicsic

Le solde des revenus primaires augmente depuis plusieurs années. La hausse d’environ 10 milliards d’euros de la rémunération des résidents français travaillant à l’étranger est plus forte que celle des revenus des investissements directs (ID) depuis 2010. L’amélioration du solde des revenus est désormais tirée par le solde des revenus des salariés.

Graphique 1 : Une nette augmentation du solde des revenus des frontaliers depuis 2010
Graphique 1 : Une nette augmentation du solde des revenus des frontaliers depuis 2010 Source : rapport annuel de la Balance des Paiements, Banque de France. Note : soldes des revenus primaires exprimés en milliards d’euros (MdE). IP : Investissements de portefeuille ; AI : Autres Investissements

Par Irena Peresa et Edouard Vidon

Avec le ralentissement de la croissance et le désendettement des entreprises, l’intervention de l’État dans certaines banques chinoises est à nouveau d’actualité. Le rôle des sociétés de gestion d’actifs (AMC), créées il y a 20 ans pour soutenir les principales banques chinoises, a radicalement changé. Face au problème des créances douteuses, il faut en priorité développer le marché secondaire des NPL.

Graphique 1 : À l’origine quatre AMC avaient été créées pour soutenir les principales banques détenues par l’État. Source : Auteurs

Par Yannick Kalantzis et Camille Thubin

Le solde commercial en part de PIB est le reflet des décisions de consommation, donc d’épargne, et d’investissement. En France, ses mouvements sont dominés depuis 40 ans par le cycle de la construction : le solde se dégrade en phase de boom. La hausse de l’épargne des ménages, qui contribue à l’excédent des années 1990, est compensée après la crise par un poids accru de la consommation publique dans le PIB.

Graphique 1 : contributions au solde de la balance commerciale, % du PIB en écart à 1981
Graphique 1 : contributions au solde de la balance commerciale, % du PIB en écart à 1981 Source : Insee.

Comment les banques et les assurances françaises se préparent-elles au changement climatique ? Où en sont-elles de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur la transition énergétique ? Nos analyses montrent des progrès notables, mais hétérogènes, en termes de transparence et de gouvernance des risques et une prise en compte grandissante, mais encore incomplète, du risque climatique en tant que risque financier.

Graphique 1 : Répartition géographique des expositions des 7 principales banques françaises
Graphique 1 : Répartition géographique des expositions des 7 principales banques françaises Source: ACPR. Note : En pourcentage des encours totaux au 30 juin 2018

Par Philippe Aghion (Collège de France et LSE), Antonin Bergeaud (Banque de France), Richard Blundell (UCL et IFS) et Rachel Griffith (University of Manchester et IFS)

Le progrès technique appelle les travailleurs à s’adapter aux nouvelles manières de produire. Il favorise ainsi les individus les plus qualifiés en les rémunérant relativement mieux que les moins qualifiés. Pourtant certains parmi les employés les moins diplômés bénéficient de ces changements techniques, à condition de posséder les compétences recherchées par les entreprises innovantes.

Graphique 1 : Salaire horaire moyen par âge pour les travailleurs peu qualifiés des entreprises innovantes et non-innovantes
Graphique 1 : Salaire horaire moyen par âge pour les travailleurs peu qualifiés des entreprises innovantes et non-innovantes Source : Aghion et al. (2019) Note : Données pour le Royaume Uni issues du Annual Survey of Hours and Earnings, appariées avec le Business Expenditures on Research and Development (2004-2016). Salaire en £ par heure sur une échelle logarithmique.

Globalement, les politiques prudentielles françaises entraînent une réduction des prêts des banques étrangères aux résidents français. Mais certaines mesures peuvent induire des fuites nuisant aux objectifs des autorités : sur la période 2011-2017, les exigences en fonds propres de Bâle ont accru de 1,1 % (+1,5 milliard d’euros) en moyenne l’exposition sur la France des sociétés affiliées de banques étrangères.

Graphique 1 Exposition des banques étrangères sur la France (en % de la dette bancaire totale des résidents français)
Graphique 1 Exposition des banques étrangères sur la France (en % de la dette bancaire totale des résidents français) Source : Statistiques bancaires consolidées BRI (CBS) – Emprunteur direct- et calcul des auteurs.