August 2019

The recent inflation dynamics in advanced countries are difficult to understand and forecast. This post looks at the contribution of Consensus Economics Inc. projections in forecasting total one-year inflation in France over the period 2009-2019.

Chart 1: Capturing the inflation trend using Consensus Economics Inc. projections
Chart 1: Capturing the inflation trend using Consensus Economics Inc. projections Sources: INSEE, Consensus Economics Inc., author’s calculations. Chart 1: Total inflation (year-on-year HICP), average of one-year inflation projections for year (N+1) of Consensus Economics Inc., and inflation trend for France

The ECB balance of risks for price stability and growth provides useful information on the Governing Council’s assessment of risks to the euro area outlook. Abstracting from unconventional monetary policy measures, an analysis since mid-2003 shows that: i) upside risks to inflation are associated with rate hikes, ii) downward risks to growth with rate cuts, and iii) in the case of conflicting signals, inflation takes priority.

Figure 1. ECB balance of risks and key ECB policy rates
Figure 1. ECB balance of risks and key ECB policy rates Sources: ECB and authors’ calculations. Since Sept. 2014 (vertical dashed line), no comment on inflation risks, except for downside risks from Sept. 2015 to March 2016. The DFR cut of 8 Oct. 2008, reversed the day after, is not shown.

août 2019

La dynamique récente de l’inflation dans les pays avancés s’avère difficile à comprendre et à prévoir. Ce billet explore l’apport des projections de Consensus Economics Inc. dans la prévision de l’inflation totale en France, à échéance un an, sur la période 2009-2019.

Graphique 1 : Capter la tendance d’inflation à partir des projections de Consensus Economics Inc.
Graphique 1 : Capter la tendance d’inflation à partir des projections de Consensus Economics Inc. Sources : INSEE, Consensus Economics Inc. et calculs de l’auteur. Note : Inflation totale (IPCH en glissement annuel), moyenne des projections d’inflation pour l’année N+1 de Consensus Economics Inc. et tendance d’inflation pour la France

La BCE évalue et communique une balance des risques pour la stabilité des prix et la croissance. Celle-ci fournit des informations utiles sur l’appréciation par le Conseil des gouverneurs des risques pesant sur les perspectives de la zone euro. En faisant abstraction des mesures de politique monétaire non conventionnelles, l’analyse depuis mi-2003 montre que : a) aux risques à la hausse pour l’inflation sont associés des hausses de taux, b) aux risques à la baisse pour la croissance des baisses de taux, et c) dans le cas de signaux contradictoires, la priorité est donnée à l’inflation.

Graphique 1. Balance des risques et taux directeurs de la BCE
Graphique 1. Balance des risques et taux directeurs de la BCE Sources : BCE et calculs des auteurs.