April 2019

By Grégory Levieuge (Banque de France)

A credible central bank can more easily anchor agents’ expectations, and therefore long-term interest rates. Thus credibility would reduce the need to make an intensive use of key rates. There is indeed an inverse relationship between credibility and interest rate volatility.

Inverse relationship between credibility and interest rate volatility
Chart 1: Inverse relationship between credibility and interest rate volatility Note: "Credibility" is the indicator proposed by Levieuge & Al. (2018), ranging from 0 (minimum credibility) to 1 (maximum credibility). The conditional variance of the interest rate reflects the volatility of the main monetary policy instrument.

By Sophie Guilloux-Nefussi, Sophie Haincourt, Edouard Jousselin (Banque de France), and Anne Perrot (Council of Economic Analysis - CAE)

The growing role of global digital players with innovative business models is shaking up traditional markets. Does the digital economy constitute a fundamental break with the industries of the past? In theory, the economic principles underlying competition policy still stand. But given the acceleration of network effects and the use of vast quantities of personal data, competition authorities must adapt their control tools and improve their digital skills.

Source : www.shutterstock.com (515267014)

By Marie-Anne Rouquier

Eco Notepad extends the scope of its analyses to France’s regions with contributions from the Bank’s network. Thus, occasionally, Eco Notepad will feature posts devoted to an analysis of an industry, a local economic institution or a product of a particular region. This post is the first of its kind.

Salt is a precious commodity, essential for human beings. Used throughout history as a currency of exchange and a means of payment, it was a key product of the economy until the 19th century. Thanks to its saltworks, Franche-Comté enjoyed remarkable prosperity for over a thousand years by mining the "white gold" of its subsoil. Now restored and reconverted, they have been given a new lease of life.

Arc-et-Senans site
Arc-et-Senans site Source: Michel Pierre

avril 2019

Par Grégory Levieuge (Banque de France, Université d’Orléans)

Une banque centrale crédible peut orienter plus facilement les anticipations des agents, et par conséquent, les taux d’intérêt de long terme. La crédibilité rendrait donc moins nécessaire un usage intensif des taux directeurs. On relève effectivement une relation inverse entre crédibilité et volatilité des taux d’intérêt.

Lien inverse entre crédibilité et volatilité du taux d’intérêt
Graphique 1 : Lien inverse entre crédibilité et volatilité du taux d’intérêt Note : "Crédibilité" est l’indicateur proposé par Levieuge & Al. (2018), compris entre 0 (crédibilité minimale) et 1 (crédibilité maximale). La variance conditionnelle du taux d’intérêt traduit la volatilité du principal instrument de politique monétaire.

Par Sophie Guilloux-Nefussi, Sophie Haincourt, Edouard Jousselin (Banque de France), et Anne Perrot (Conseil d’Analyse Économique)

La montée en puissance d’acteurs numériques mondiaux avec des modèles d’affaire inédits bouscule les marchés traditionnels. L’économie numérique constitue-t-elle une rupture fondamentale par rapport aux industries d’hier ? En théorie, les principes économiques qui sous-tendent la politique de la concurrence ne sont pas remis en cause. Mais la rapidité des effets de réseaux et l’utilisation de grandes quantités de données personnelles doivent pousser les autorités de la concurrence à adapter leurs outils de contrôle et renforcer leurs compétences numériques.

Source : www.shutterstock.com (515267014)

Par Marie-Anne Rouquier

Bloc-notes-éco étend le champ de ses analyses aux régions avec des contributions du Réseau de la Banque. Ainsi, de façon occasionnelle, Bloc-notes-éco proposera des billets consacrés par exemple à une analyse d’une industrie, une institution économique locale ou un produit d’une région. Ce billet est le premier de ce genre.

Indispensable à l’homme, le sel est une denrée précieuse. Utilisé dans l’histoire comme monnaie d’échange et support de rémunération, il est un produit central de l’économie jusqu’au XIXe siècle. Grâce à ses salines, la Franche-Comté a connu une prospérité remarquable pendant plus de mille ans en exploitant « l’or blanc » de son sous-sol. Restaurées et reconverties, elles revivent aujourd’hui.

Site d'Arc-et-Senans
Site d'Arc-et-Senans Source : Michel Pierre