March 2019

By Gilbert Cette, Jimmy Lopez and Jacques Mairesse

The positive effect on productivity of reducing product market regulation and employment protection legislation has been extensively documented and analysed, leading to many structural reforms in OECD countries. On the basis of new measures of rent creation and rent sharing, we show that further product market deregulation could substantially increase productivity, notably in France and Italy.

Chart 1: Expected total factor productivity gains from product market deregulation
Chart 1: Expected total factor productivity gains from product market deregulation Sources: Authors’ calculations assuming a switch to the most pro-competitive regulations

The US Tax Cuts and Jobs Act implemented in 2018 impacts both the domestic and the international activity of US corporates. Nevertheless, the corporate tax cut has only had a transitory effect on the composition of US foreign direct investment income, without having so far delivered any significant improvement in the trade balance.

Chart 1. US primary income
Chart 1. US primary income Source: US Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).

The banking sector assesses the credit risks associated with borrowers. What are the consequences to be expected from the production of information by a third party? Exploiting a change in the rating methodology of the Banque de France, this post shows how the disclosure of more detailed information on companies can increase the supply of credit for their benefit.

Chart: Companies with a fine-tuned rating obtain more credit
Chart: Companies with a fine-tuned rating obtain more credit

To mark International Women’s Day, the Banque de France organised a roundtable on 7 March on the economic impact of gender inequalities, with the participation of Sylvie Goulard, Deputy Governor of the Banque de France, Isabelle Hudon, Ambassador of Canada in France, and Peter Praet, member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank. This post echoes these discussions, and concludes that there is urgency to act at all levels.

By Grâce Constant, Elisabeth Fonteny and Meghann Puloc’h

The blue economy encompasses all economic activities related to oceans, seas and coasts. Thanks to its overseas territories, France has the second largest marine zone in the world. World population growth and trade contribute to the development of the blue economy, which can be a driver of sustainable and innovative growth for Overseas France provided certain structural constraints are overcome.

Chart 1: Variations in the weight of the blue economy in Overseas France in 2015(*)
Chart 1: Variations in the weight of the blue economy in Overseas France in 2015(*) Sources: Insee, ISPF, ISEE, Acoss (**)

mars 2019

Par Gilbert Cette, Jimmy Lopez et Jacques Mairesse

L’effet positif sur la productivité d’une réduction des régulations sur le marché des biens et de la législation protectrice de l’emploi explique les nombreuses réformes structurelles dans les pays de l'OCDE. De nouvelles évaluations de la création et du partage des rentes montrent qu’une nouvelle déréglementation du marché des biens pourrait accroître substantiellement la productivité en France et en Italie.

Graphique 1 : Gains de PGF attendus d’une déréglementation des marchés de biens
Graphique 1 : Gains de PGF attendus d’une déréglementation des marchés de biens Sources : Calculs des auteurs fondés sur l’hypothèse d’un passage aux réglementations les plus pro-concurrentielles.

Le US Tax Cuts and Jobs Act mis en œuvre en 2018 a un impact sur l’activité aussi bien nationale qu’internationale des sociétés américaines. Néanmoins, la réduction de l’impôt sur les sociétés n’a eu qu’un effet transitoire sur la composition des revenus des investissements directs étrangers des États-Unis, sans entraîner jusqu’à présent d’amélioration significative du solde commercial.

Source : US Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Graphique 1. Revenu primaire aux États-Unis Source : US Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)

Le secteur bancaire évalue les risques de crédit associés aux emprunteurs. Quelles sont les conséquences à attendre d’une information produite par une tierce partie ? Exploitant un changement dans la méthodologie de cotation de la Banque de France, ce billet montre comment la communication d’une information plus détaillée sur les entreprises permet d’accroître l’offre de crédit à leur bénéfice.

Graphique : Les entreprises dont la cote est affinée obtiennent plus de crédit
Graphique : Les entreprises dont la cote est affinée obtiennent plus de crédit

À l’occasion de la Journée Internationale pour les Droits des Femmes, la Banque de France a organisé le 7 mars une table ronde sur l'impact économique des inégalités de genre, avec Sylvie Goulard, Sous-Gouverneure de la Banque de France, Isabelle Hudon, Ambassadrice du Canada en France, et Peter Praet, Membre du Directoire de la Banque centrale européenne. Ce billet fait écho à ces discussions, pour conclure qu’il y a urgence à agir, à tous les niveaux.

Par Grâce Constant, Elisabeth Fonteny et Meghann Puloc’h

L’économie bleue englobe toutes les activités économiques liées aux océans, mers et côtes. Grâce à l’Outre-mer, la France dispose du deuxième domaine maritime au monde. La démographie mondiale et le commerce contribuent au développement de l'économie bleue, qui constitue un levier de croissance durable et innovant pour l’Outre-mer, à condition de surmonter certains freins structurels.

Graphique 1 : Poids disparates de l’économie bleue dans l’Outre mer en 2015(*)
Graphique 1 : Poids disparates de l’économie bleue dans l’Outre mer en 2015(*) Sources: INSEE, ISPF, ISEE, Acoss (**)