Other sites of Banque de France

Language switcher

August 2018

Growth in advanced economies has slowed in successive stages since the 1970s. Are we likely to see a return to the growth rates observed in the 20th century? The main uncertainty lies in the pace and diffusion of technological progress. Under a secular stagnation scenario, growth is expected to remain below 1.5% in advanced economies in the period up to 2060, compared with close to 3% in the case of a new technology shock.

Chart 1: Scenarios for GDP growth up to 2060: Contributions to GDP growth
Chart 1: Scenarios for GDP growth up to 2060: Contributions to GDP growth Source: Cette, Lecat, Ly-Marin (2017) Note: Secular stagnation = Sec. stag.; Technology shock = Tech shock. Annual average % growth 2018-60; contributions in percentage points. The contribution of labour is the total number of hours worked.

By Jean Dalbard and Benoit Nguyen

By December 2018, the Eurosystem will have bought more than EUR 2,500 billion of securities as part of its Asset Purchase Programmes (APP). These purchases are governed by a number of principles, one of which is "market neutrality". This is intended to minimise the potentially distortive effects of purchases on the functioning of the financial markets, while enabling the transmission of monetary policy stimulus to the economy. We demonstrate this in this blog by comparing the Eurosystem's purchasing techniques with those of other central banks.

Chart 1: Structure of French sovereign debt and APP purchases by maturity (March 2018)
Chart 1: Structure of French sovereign debt and APP purchases by maturity (March 2018) Sources: Bloomberg, Arrata and Nguyen (2017).

Given their inflation objectives, the ECB and the Federal Reserve System closely monitor measures of inflation expectations. But what are the available sources of inflation expectations and how is their anchoring measured? This post addresses these questions and focuses on a novel approach to gauging the anchoring of inflation expectations, namely by computing the probability of future inflation being in a range that is consistent with inflation targets.

Figure 1 : Euro area and US measures of the anchoring of inflation expectations (1999-2016)
Figure 1: Euro area and US measures of the anchoring of inflation expectations (1999-2016) Source: Grishchenko, Mouabbi and Renne (2017).

Language switcher

août 2018

La croissance a baissé par paliers depuis 1970 dans les pays avancés. Pourrons-nous retrouver un jour la croissance du XXème siècle ? L’incertitude porte principalement sur le rythme et la diffusion du progrès technologique. Dans un scénario de stagnation séculaire, la croissance serait de moins de 1,5% dans les pays avancés à l’horizon 2060, contre près de 3% avec un nouveau choc technologique.

Graphique 1: Scénarios de croissance du PIB à l'horizon 2060: Contributions à la croissance du PIB
Graphique 1: Scénarios de croissance du PIB à l’horizon 2060 : Contributions à la croissance du PIB Source : Cette, Lecat, Ly-Marin (2017)

Par Jean Dalbard et Benoit Nguyen

En décembre 2018, l’Eurosystème aura acheté plus de 2500 milliards d’euros d’actifs dans le cadre de ses programmes d’achat (APP). Plusieurs principes encadrent ces achats, dont celui de « neutralité de marché ». Cette dernière vise à limiter les effets potentiellement distorsifs des achats sur le fonctionnement des marchés financiers, tout en permettant la transmission du stimulus monétaire à l’économie. Nous l’illustrons dans ce billet en comparant les techniques d’achats de l’Eurosystème à celles des autres banques centrales.

Graphique 1 : structure de la dette souveraine française et achats de l’APP, par maturité (mars 2018)
Graphique 1 : structure de la dette souveraine française et achats de l’APP, par maturité (mars 2018) Source : Bloomberg, Arrata et Nguyen (2017)

Les objectifs d’inflation de la BCE et du Système fédéral de réserve impliquent un suivi étroit des mesures des anticipations d’inflation. À l’aide de quelles sources et de quelle manière l’ancrage de ces anticipations est-il mesuré ? Pour répondre à ces questions, ce billet rend compte d’une nouvelle approche : le calcul de la probabilité que l’inflation future se situe dans une fourchette compatible avec les objectifs d’inflation.

Graphique 1 Mesures de l’ancrage des anticipations d’inflation dans la zone euro et aux États-Unis (1999-2016)
Graphique 1 : Mesures de l’ancrage des anticipations d’inflation dans la zone euro et aux États-Unis (1999-2016) Source : Grishchenko, Mouabbi et Renne (2017)